The Better Part of Me...

Presenting Wile E. Coyote
2004-01-17 @ 1:58 p.m.

I awoke this morning determined to leave the house in order to find some dress pants for work. I had decided to head to Old Navy because I'd heard a rumor they had scarves for sale as well and it has been my goal all winter to find a scarf that was stylish and yet soft and functional and most importantly - wasn't falling apart. I threw on a pair of jeans, threw the dog a bone and sashayed out the door on my merry way. I then proceeded to promptly fall on my ass.

I lay there spread-eagled but for my right knee (which had graciously taken the brunt of my fall) tucked underneath me. I lay my head back on the cold cement and whispered to myself - "So, apparently there was freezing rain last night?"

It would seem that I'm the star of my own Looney Toons cartoon today. Three hours later I stepped outside to test the sidewalk thinking that if the ice had melted I would take Oliver for a nice long walk so that maybe he'd chill the fuck out for a little while. The ice had indeed melted and the temperatures felt almost balmy, so I grabbed the leash and set out for the trail near my house.

Do you see where this is headed yet?

Stepping under a bridge, just as I began contemplating turning around and heading back, my feet flew out from under me. I mean - my feet. flew. out from under me. This time I lay spread-eagled (the same knee graciously taking another fall and tucked securely under me) in the middle of a park with Oliver skittering back and forth absolutely mystified (and a little terrified) by my sudden plop to the ground. Immediatly I propped myself up on an elbow to make sure nobody had seen me. Thankfully - I had the trail (and the park) to myself.

I'm thinking I'll stay indoors the rest of the day. My knee is sort of swollen and has turned an odd plum color and my pride has most certainly been put in it's place.

On the bright side - I did get two new scarves, 3 pairs of work pants and one pair of pajama pants (Old Navy jammie bottoms are my weakness) all for under $40! My right knee doesn't find that such a great consolation, but my pride most certainly does!

***

Listening To: Moonlight Kiss by Bap Kennedy

Reading: This week's People Magazine and Djb's Bachelorette recap. Aw. Djb. *swoon*

Recently Saw: The movie "Wrong Turn" last night. This movie is completely fucked up. It's a horror movie, so it's supposed to be, and I don't remember how I found out about it - probably it was recommended to me by Netflix. In any case - a bunch of young people get lost in the woods when their cars crash in the middle of nowhere and a bunch of inbred zombie rednecks go on a killing spree. It's like Deliverance meets the Blair Witch Project meets every other horror movie ever made. I'll admit that I sat through most of the movie peeking through my fingers as my hands covered my face, and I didn't really think it was a horrible movie (for it's genre) - but...it was weird.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland