The Better Part of Me...

100 Things
2003-06-25 @ 1:27 p.m.

1. I was born on 2/16/77 at 6:01 a.m.

2. My mom thought they gave her the wrong baby after I was born because I looked Oriental.

3. I am a mutt mixture of German/Norwegian with a wee bit if Irish thrown in for good measure.

4. My sister was born when I was 5 years old.

5. I acted like her little mother when she was tiny and sometimes still do today.

6. My parents divorced when I was 7.

7. I was given the choice, and chose to live with my mom.

8. I have never regretted that decision.

9. My dad is in the Air Force.

10. My mom works at a bank.

11. My mom wrote my dad letters to keep him updated on the things we were doing (in school and stuff) as she always wanted him to have a role in our lives.

12. I thought that they were still friends after the divorce until I learned otherwise, at age 17.

13. My mom is my hero (for real).

14. Both my parents remarried.

15. My dad has 4 more kids (under the age of 10) and my stepmom is expecting her 5th.

16. My stepbrother (my stepdad�s son) is only 3 months older than me.

17. I used to hate him with a passion, now he�s all grown up and married and we get along just fine.

18. I am single, never married, no boyfriend.

19. I have a dog � a black lab mix named Oliver.

20. I spent the summer after 8th Grade in Europe with my Dad and Stepmom. We traveled around Germany, France & Austria.

21. I was born in Rochester, Minnesota and lived there until I was 21.

22. When I was 21 I moved to Durham, NC and stayed there for 4 years.

23. I now live in Rochester, Minnesota. Again.

24. Every boyfriend I have ever had, I�ve had in North Carolina.

25. I�ve dated a lot of guys, but have had only 4 �relationships�

26. I�m a little afraid of what my prospects look like here.

27. I own my own house.

28. I don�t like most people, though most people would describe me as bubbly and sweet.

29. I adore Japanese food.

30. I am tall (for a girl). I have green/brown eyes. I have funky brownish hair that I am constantly changing.

31. I love football, beer, and most �guy� stuff. This makes me an excellent girl � friend.

32. My favorite girls names are Casey, Erica, Johanna & Grace

33. My favorite boys names are Justin, Adam & Casey

34. Men in scrubs make me purr (and that�s a good thing).

35. I have a very green thumb and can keep most houseplants alive.

36. I have reached an age where I honestly think that being able to keep most houseplants alive gives me something to brag about.

37. My favorite beer is Blue Moon � with oranges.

38. My favorite shot is the lemon drop or irish car bomb.

39. The first CD I ever bought for myself was Gloria Estefan & The Miami Sound Machine � � Cuts Both Ways�

40. The last CD I bought was the pre-release of Guster�s new Album �Keep It Together�

41. In my younger days I leaned towards being a Democrat, the older I get the more I find myself leaning toward the Republican side.

42. I loathe tomatoes.

43. I don�t usually fall for the hero in movies � often I fall for the goofy sidekick.

44. I have 2 tattoo�s and a cartilage piercing. I had my nose pierced, but that didn�t fly at my new job, so I took it out.

45. I think freckles are sexy.

46. Sunflowers are my favorite flower.

47. I don�t make my bed in the morning. Ever.

48. I failed the first time I took my driver�s test. I blame it on my mom�s old school Chevy Caprice Classic.

49. I was a virgin until I was 21.

50. I am still friends with my first best friend. We�ve known each other for 17 years now. I recently attended her wedding.

51. I believe in God. Firmly.

52. I am a pop culture fanatic. Usually � the cheesier the better.

53. I become increasingly more claustrophobic as I get older.

54. I think that TLC is one of the best TV channels ever invented.

55. I love Sark, but not as much as I love Storypeople (Brian Andreas).

56. My favorite board games: Scattergories & Scrabble

57. Favorite Computer Games: Sims, Snood & Diamond Mine

58. I joined my high school golf team in 9th grade having never picked up a club and lettered in the sport by 11th grade.

59. I dropped out of college 3 credits shy of my degree. 3. Credits.

60. I sleep with a fan on year round.

61. I laugh from the belly and usually cry when I laugh.

62. I will try almost anything once, though some things I need to be talked into.

63. I am mostly deaf in my left ear and have to be sitting on/walking next to people so that my good ear is facing them or else I won�t understand a word that they�re saying.

64. I�ve never broken any bones � and the only surgeries I�ve ever had have been ENT (Ear, Nose & Throat) surgeries. Mostly ears.

65. I don�t believe in love at first sight.

66. I am easily irritated though it�s difficult to anger me.

67. I like peanut butter better than I like chocolate.

68. I don�t kill the daddy long legs (spiders) who share my house. I allow them to live as long as they respect my space and keep to themselves.

69. I have only done the act that this number is associated with once and mostly I just found the whole thing ridiculously awkward.

70. People who don�t know me usually think I am shy, reserved, and quiet.

71. People who do know me usually think that I am outgoing, goofy and hard to shut up.

72. I am fascinated by the moon and can spend hours staring at the night sky.

73. I am scared to death of �crunchy� bugs and centipedes. All other bugs are A-OK in my book.

74. I have lost touch with all of my college friends, but remain close to several of my high school friends. This is opposite of the way it�s supposed to be I think.

75. I am terrified of needles. I can�t even watch a needle scene in movies or TV shows.

76. I am incapable of sleeping naked. If too much skin is exposed my mind starts imagining bugs crawling over it and I get all twitchy and uncomfortable.

77. My favorite physical feature on myself is my smile.

78. My favorite physical feature on others is eyes.

79. I collect frogs (not real ones) but refuse to buy my own.

80. I have never been fired from a job. (Knock on wood)

81. I am not even remotely superstitious � despite that whole �Knock on wood� thing.

82. I used to own, and wear in public, a pair of sparkly tie dye spandex capris. (It was the early 90�s. Back off.)

83. I am not sure if I ever want to have kids. I used to want 6.

84. I can curl my tongue, raise one eyebrow and wiggle my ears. (That is right. Talent. Be jealous.)

85. I repeat myself when I�m nervous or uncomfortable.

86. I thoroughly enjoy celebrating other people�s birthdays, but am not particularly fond of my own.

87. I am personally pro-life; globally pro-choice.

88. I am 100% for same-sex marriages.

89. I love to argue. That is, I love to argue with people who know how to do it without making it personal. I find I learn a lot from these people.

90. When I die I want my organs donated, my body cremated, and then I want to be buried.

91. I haven�t spent a lot of time thinking about when I die, contrary to what #90 would have you believe.

92. New Kids on the Block with Tiffany & Tommy Page was the first concert I ever went to. I�d see them again in a heartbeat.

93. I don�t wear heels because I feel like I�m tall enough without them. I also won�t wear any shoe that is ridiculously uncomfortable no matter how trendy it is.

94. I am 5�9�.

95. I have my own language that I use with my dog. I often make up songs for him and sing them at the top of my lungs. My sister finds this wildly amusing. I think my dog just finds it all a bit silly.

96. I used to smoke pot on a fairly regular basis. Then I realized that I actually didn�t like smoking pot and I haven�t touched it since.

97. My favorite artists are Claude Monet & Georgia O�Keeffe.

98. I do not like flowers or gifts brought to me on a first date.

99. I still like to color.

100. I like to finish what I start and am incredibly glad that this is finished!

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland