The Better Part of Me...

Rambling
2003-01-13 @ 3:21 p.m.

Unfortunately the Bingo part of my weekend didn't pan out. Some obscure relative of my stepdad's died so my parents had to go to a wake on Friday night, so I just picked my little cousins up on my way home from work and mentally catalogued just how many Disney movies I had in my collection trying to get a handle on how much time I could kill. I wasn't prepared for when the older one hollered at me from the backseat of my car, asking me if I had any dishes she could do.

Huh?

Wow. Well. I don't know. PROBABLY. But maybe my sister already did them in a random burst of kindness and sisterly love.

In that case, she wanted to know, could she dry them?

I'm sorry. WHAT? Is this fun? I thought I grew up in a pretty strict household. We had to ask if we could watch TV, ask if we could play on the computer, ask - for a few precious years at least when we were all in the throes of teen angst and carried with us voracious and insatiable appetites - to eat the food that lay tauntingly about. We each had chores arranged on a calendar so that we alternated between laundry, dishes, & sweep and vac. It wasn't unusual to expect a tirade of monumental proportions if you made the most unfortunate mistake of sleeping in past 9 a.m. on any day you were lucky enough to not have school. Indeed, there were a few years in there in which I was kept on a very short leash. There were some bleak years in there, years when "fun" seemed to be a little hard to come by. Yet dishes? They were NEVER fun. Given the choice of doing dishes or laying around watching Lady & The Tramp for the 300 billionth time and snarfing down nummy chocolate malts that the sister and her boyfriend brought over would (and quite frankly WILL) never be a contest about which I will choose first. Only in cases where extreme politeness and best behavior is required from me will I actually OFFER to do someone else's dishes.

I'll also probably do them if I'm in love with you, but that's neither here nor there.

In any case. No Bingo. Only a couple of Disney movies. My dishes were already done (yay sister!) and I managed to watch three movies that were all just "eh" to me (Frailty, In the Bedroom, Amelie - which I really really WANTED to like, but I couldn't see what the big deal was. It's because it's foreign, isn't it?). I also washed my car, went grocery shopping and played roughly 14.3 hours of Drug Lord. I managed to make more than $2 billion when I tripped over a dead body and found like...144 million cans of no scent.

Oh yeah. Still a dork.

It's snowing here today! Woo! The big puffy kind that sticks to your lashes. It's really pretty out there. I'm so glad I only have to drive like 6 seconds to get home! Of course, I have to walk 40 miles to my car so...it all works out I guess.

I'm excited to go home. I didn't want to be here at all today, and it's been busy as fuck. Everyone picked today to call me with questions about shit I've never heard of. My favorite was this guy who called for my physician but then said he didn't need to talk to my physician and then proceeded to not say anything at all while I tried to gently steer him into such a direction as I could figure out WHY IN THE HELL HE WAS CALLING ME IN THE FIRST PLACE?! What do you WANT Rainman? Jesus.

Rainman jokes will never stop being funny.

Anyhow, I just want to be at home. It's not feeling like "home" just yet. All my stuff is in there, but I feel like I'm just...living in someone else's house. I'm anxious to make it home. It was so strange last night. I was laying in bed trying to get to sleep and every time I shut my eyes I'd have this crystal clear vision of something in North Carolina. Franklin Street in Chapel Hill, Duke Chapel, my old office at Duke, my last apartment in Durham. It was weird to keep glimpsing those images of what I worked so hard for. I was so proud of myself once I learned my way around those cities. Every time I'd take a shortcut somewhere I'd do a little mental jig remembering the days when I couldn't get from point A to point B ANYWHERE without a quick mapquest consultation first. It's weird how sometimes the little pieces of me that I left behind sneak up on me from time to time and let me know they're still out there somewhere.

Oh bother. Time to go home. Not a moment too soon...

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland