The Better Part of Me...

holidays
2002-12-23 @ 2:18 p.m.

I'm having a hell of a time getting into the holiday spirit this year. Usually by this time I'm all giddy and cheerful. Then again, usually by this time I've just started a 2 week vacation and there's much reason to be giddy and cheerful. This year, since I'm living in my hometown again and don't have to travel for the holidays, I work Christmas Eve AND New Years Eve and there's no sign of vacation in sight at LEAST until next Summer. Sad.

New Years pisses me off too. Don't fool yourself kids, New Years is a bigger couple's holiday than Valentine's Day will EVER be. Valentine's day is really nothing more than a Hallmark Holiday - easy to ignore and set aside (if you can manage to stay out of stores for at least the month in advance). Nobody ever asks you (well, unless you're in a relationship I suppose) what you did for Valentine's Day. EVERYONE wants to know how you spent New Years though. And they expect nothing short of drunken orgies followed by a low end crime spree and maybe even a very brief stint in the slammer. The pity in people's eyes when you tell them that you really just spent it at home watching the countdown on TV and drinking an entire bottle of champagne yourself is more unbareable than the fact that you did, indeed, drink an entire bottle of champagne by yourself.

Now, I really should have no right to complain. My last two New Years have been pretty fantastic and resulted in all sorts of sordid stories. There was alcohol, there was kissing random boys, there was public exposure (accidental, but still...), dancing, screaming, puking, the works. HEPPY NOON EAR! I kissed 3 random boys! I singlehandedly kept a fight from breaking out! I fell down the stairs! I drank so much I should really be dead by now!

This year? Man, I'm staying home. I'm going to unpack some boxes and drink a couple beers and maybe read my book. I'd watch the countdown on TV, but I probably won't have cable yet. I'm 25. I'm single. And I have no desire to kiss a random boy. I don't need your pity, I have plenty enough of my own. There are worse things than being 25 and single on New Years. I just bought a house! I have plenty to be happy about! I have the cutest dog in the history of the world! He loves me! I'd rather spend New Years with him than with 50 drunk stinky balding guys with a bad combover at a bar that doesn't allow you to smoke anymore because this place has implemented a smoking ban. Fuck that. I'm DEFINITELY going to need to smoke on New Years. And when that clock strikes midnight - I'd really much rather be fast asleep and drooling on an air mattress in my own new house, than turning around and around watching couples all over spontaneously make out while I blow my little kazoo flapper thing and jump up and down like a maniac.

So here's to me! Here's to the Holiday's! And here's to only one more week til the whole damn thing is over!

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland