The Better Part of Me...

Cell Phone
2002-12-21 @ 1:26 p.m.

I finally got a cell phone! I spent a good portion of the last few years loathing the cell phone trend. I had absolutely NO desire to be "that person," and my land line served me just fine thank you. However, life does what life does and here I am all grown up and in need of a cell phone.

You see, I just moved to Minnesota from a 4 year stint in North Carolina. I'm buying a house and making all these huge steps in my life. However, after a 4 year absence I find that most of my friends are now a "long distance phone call" away, as are the friends I've left behind in North Carolina, you see? So it makes sense. It'll cost just as much for me to have a cell phone as it would for me to have a land line and make tons of long distance phone calls. Less even, probably. Plus. I look so cool with my teeny cell phone. I haven't even really used it yet. I've just been carrying it around like a tiny new pet, showing it off to anyone who crosses my path. Of course, nobody is particularly impressed since most people are now on their 3rd or 4th cell phone upgrade by now, and they generally cast pitying glances at my "rookie" cell phone and then pat me on the head and say "that's lovely sweetheart..." Oh well. I like it.

I've set certain rules for myself though. I've watched friend after friend fall into this self absorbed "I have a cell phone and now I am far too important to be anywhere in the world without it" trap, and I feel that such a trap would just reinforce over and over again to myself that I'm really *not* that popular, and even though I carry my cell phone EVERYWHERE with me, all the time, nobody ever calls and in the end it would just be a very depressing cycle. So-- the cell phone in MOST cases will be treated like my land line phone. I will not take it with me to work. I will not take it to the grocery store. I will not take it Christmas shopping. I *may* take it when I go out for a night on the town, but that's dependant on how many people I'm meeting and/or what the chances are that I'll get lost (generally, the chances are fairly good.) The phone will never find its way into a restaurant or movie theater. The phone will never EVER be answered while I'm in the middle of a conversation with someone. In short, I will not become a slave to this phone just because it's little and cute and can follow me anywhere tucked neatly into the tiniest of pockets.

Rules to live by folks. And with that said--I have to go play with my cell phone. There's all kinds of neato gadgets and whatnot! This is so great!

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland