The Better Part of Me...

Knock Three Times
2005-08-05 @ 2:35 p.m.

Hi, internet?

Hi.

Look, I�m really sorry. I know, I know you�re probably all pissed at me and I can�t say that I blame you. �She gets a boyfriend and then she disappears off the face of the earth like nothing else ever existed before this boy came along. What a Jerk.�

What a jerk, indeed.

But really, I was doing it just as much for your sake as I was for my own. New relationships are pretty disgusting to everyone who is not involved in them. All I wanted to do pretty much all the time was gush and gush and gush and, y�know, it was making me sick, so I didn�t really want to drag anyone else down with me. On top of that, I had a couple of bad experiences in talking about my relationship when it was brand new and I was gushy, and as a result I became very protective of it and pretty much kept all the details to myself .

I�ve missed you though. And I can�t help but thinking that maybe if I hadn�t just cut you off, you could have prevented me from making the mistake that is my outfit today. You could have looked at me and said �wow Shell, those pants kind of sag in the butt and bunch up around your crotch. And that shirt? It kind of bunches up around your boobs and isn�t quite long enough. I�m just saying that you might want to reconsider that outfit when you�re retaining water which�y�know�well, you just look a little puffy is all. Today might be a good day for black.�

In any case, you haven�t missed much.

I�ve decided to give the Boy a name (mostly because I kind of hate myself for continuing to call him �the Boy�) and that name shall be Sugarbritches.

And things are good.

Oliver is good. He barely even has a limp now. I watch him running and chasing his ball, and jumping into bed to wake us up in the morning and I think about how I seriously considered putting him to sleep when all that shit was going down with his knees last spring, and I�m just so so so happy that I didn�t. This puppy�s got a lot of life left in him. He�s a big baby and he�s currently leaving handful sized globs of fur all over the house, but it�s so good to see him run again.

My house is falling apart, bit by bit � but I try not to think about that too much. It just makes me crabby and it�s pretty much official that nobody likes it when I�m crabby.

My friendship with Sarah T. is coming around again. We�re going in different directions and leading totally separate lives these days, but at least we�re talking again � about the stuff that matters. She�s got a new circle of friends that she spends all her time with now and I�m not a part of that at all, but I�ve known her longer and I know her better and now that we�re having normal conversations again � it�s easy to not be so threatened by that.

My life is balancing out.

***

How To Charm Me:

Shelly: God I hope I don�t have another nightmare. I really need to get some good sleep. I can not afford to be fighting zombies all night again tonight.
Sugarbritches: Think happy thoughts. Think about going to the fair tomorrow and eating good greasy food. Think about puppies�and�flowers�.and�.
Shelly: Peanut butter�.
Sugarbritches: I was JUST going to say that!!!

Mmmmm. Peanut butter.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland