The Better Part of Me...

Holding it Together
2005-03-17 @ 11:17 a.m.

I'm not at work right now.

I probably should be. It would probably be healthier for me if I were. I decided to at least sit the morning out though to see how I feel.

Oliver had his 10 day check-up this morning. Everything had gone wonderfully up to this point. He was walking on his gimpy leg and he seemed to be in good spirits.

This morning I took him out to go potty and he was ready to play. I reigned him in on his leash and guided him towards the stairs to go up into the house and then it happened - the same yelp I'd heard the first time he hurt his leg followed by an uncontrollable shaking of his hind quarters.

A half hour later we were at the vet's office. The verdict? The gimpy leg is doing fine, it's healing very well. The "healthy" leg appears to have now been afflicted by the same problem the gimpy leg had had originally. This means another surgery. In three weeks.

I haven't quite pulled myself together about that yet. This surgery has had me incredibly stressed out. It's been a huge strain on me financially and I was just beginning to breathe a sigh of relief over the waning of the financial burden. Another one in three weeks might sink me. I don't really have an alternative though. At least not an alternative that doesn't send me into fits of hysterics every time I even think of it.

I spent most of the morning in tears. I decided that at the very least - I needed a mental/emotional holiday for the morning. I may stretch it to all day if the guilt doesn't get to me, but I guess I just figured I needed some time to wrap my brain and my heart around this.

I feel pretty beat up right now. These punches have got to stop soon...

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland