The Better Part of Me...

Take Me Down
2005-03-24 @ 8:11 a.m.

Dear God,

Thank you for letting me breathe again.

XOXO,
Shelly

***

I've been on my deathbed all week. It has not been pretty. It started as a menacing cough on Friday night and by Sunday night it had all but leveled me. My apologies to everyone in my house who was trying to get some sleep on Sunday night. I know that didn't work out very well. I went to the doctor on Monday convinced that I was suffering from pneumonia or bronchitis or perhaps an alien attempting to force its way out of my lungs - the doctor dismissed all of my ideas and sent me home with a measly bottle of robitussin laced with codein.

Why, every time I have some kind of medical issue, do they give me codein? Why am I never sick enough for the good drugs?

In any case, I'm finally coming back from the ledge. I finally slept more than I was awake last night. My coughing is coming less frequently and less violently and when it does come it is much much more productive. I'm going back to work tomorrow and I'm actually a little bit excited about it.

I'm also excited for the upcoming weekend. I can't wait to feel alive again. I'm spending Easter with the boy and his family and I'm both nervous and excited about that. This is another first for me. There have been so many "firsts" lately that you'd wonder if this was my first time around the block. In many ways, it kind of is I think. It's the first time I've done it the right way. It's the first time with anyone worth the effort.

In any case - that is where I've been and this is where I'm going. I've been up since about 5 a.m. coughing the remains of evil out of my lungs so I'm going to lay down and sleep my way through my last "sick" morning. I'll be back when I'm fully human again...

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland