The Better Part of Me...

Good To Me
2005-01-27 @ 10:41 a.m.

I�ve been avoiding this journal.

There are some things I know I should write about � some things that I know I�m expected to write about and for good reason; they make excellent journal fodder. There are some things that I could poke fun of and laugh about and fill the entire world in on, but I haven�t really felt like it just yet.

Sometimes when something (or someone) new comes along, I like to just keep things close to me for a while so I can examine it, poke it with a stick, and try to figure out what its purpose is. If it�s possible to be cautiously reckless, that�s what I have been lately. I�m taking more risks and following more impulses. At the end of the day, however, I still curl up into a tiny ball and try to dissect everything that is going on around me.

So�I�m going to keep things close to me for a little while longer. It�s a combination self protection thing and self indulgent thing. Stories (particularly the tale of �Sugarbritches and the Quest for the Elusive Charm Bracelet�) will be forthcoming, no doubt, but for now � this is all mine.

***

In the meantime � big announcements were made at work today. I�m not sure what this means for my job (aside from the fact that I still have one, so that�s not the issue) but I�m pretty sure this means I�m in for a couple of months of transition. This is either going to be incredibly exciting or incredibly disastrous.

I was just complaining last night about how boring my job is. I fear I may have spoken too soon�

In any case, after an early morning meeting this morning I had the following e-mail exchange with a coworker:

Coworker: So are you going to be working for Dr. H? Or Dr. S? She must be relocating to a new area.
Shelly: I have no idea. I imagine that at some point Dr. S. and I are going to have to sit down and talk about it. Or Supervisor and I. SOMEBODY is going to have to tell me what to do.
Coworker: I�ll tell you what to do. Hit the road with me!
Shelly: That would be fun. We could get snacks and good music. We�d be like Thelma & Louise!
Coworker: Yeah! Except that we wouldn�t be driving off a cliff! We�d just shoot men that we met along the way.
Shelly: This is sounding better and better all the time. Although I think we should also try to avoid having Brad Pitt steal all our money.
Coworker: HE could steal anything he wanted to.
Shelly: Good point. Count me in if Brad Pitt is involved.
Coworker: OK then. I will work on that.

***

I know that the torch has been passed to me but I can�t fill that out here at work (and I also need to come up with people to pass the torch to). So in my NEXT entry I will be fulfilling my civic duty with regards to the torch and the passing.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland