The Better Part of Me...

Easy Like Sunday Morning
2005-01-22 @ 1:22 p.m.

We had our first big winter storm last night. It snowed and snowed and snowed and the roads were outrageously bad and visibility was practically nothing and it was the perfect night to curl up at home in my jammies, light all the candles and catch up on my movie watching.

Instead, I hopped in a limo (!) and rode an hour and a half to see Bill Engvall with a group of people that I hardly know. Never let it be said that I do not have a sense of adventure. Let's not talk about how many times I whined about not wanting to die.

The show was good. It seemed short for the amount of time and effort it took us to get there and back, but comedy is comedy and anytime you gather a group of 300 people together to laugh at some jokes is a good time to me.

I arrived home (practically weeping with relief) and hopped on the phone (because that is what I do these days). These late night conversations serve as my "pillow" now, so going to sleep without them just seems strange and uncomfortable. Also, if I'm not sleeping? Ain't nobody sleeping.

So...nobody slept. :)

It never seems like a bad idea to stay on the phone until 5:30 in the morning. Actually, it never is a bad idea as long as we're both marginally coherent and laughing, and arguing over silly things (seriously, FIVE YAWNS). It isn't until it's 8:00 a.m. and there's someone beating down my back door and Oliver is going completely insane with the barking and jumping on the bed and off the bed that I wake up and think "holy shit, what have I done?"

First of all - who shows up at my house unannounced at 8:00 a.m. on Saturday?

My parents.

Mom: *laughing* Wow. You look beautiful Shell. Did you just get home?
Shelly: *annoyed* Um. No. Do you....what?
Mom: Jer needs your tools.
Shelly: what?!
Mom: Jer needs your tools. Screwdrivers and wrenches.
Shelly: Um. WHY? What are you guys doing here?
Mom: There was a big snowstorm last night. Did you miss that? Jer is going to get your snowblower started.
Shelly: *instantly less annoyed* OH! Okay.

This is where I walked down the stairs to the shelf I keep my tools on and stared at them uncomprehendingly for 3 minutes.

Mom: Are those all your tools?
Shelly: Um. I think so.
Mom: Don't you have a tool kit?
Shelly: I have no idea. I don't think he's going to like what I have in here. Here. Take the whole box.
Mom: Okay, we're going to get started out here.
Shelly: Yeah...um, you're just gonna have to give me a minute.

This is the part where I go into the bathroom and notice how my hair is sticking straight up on ONE side of my head and is plastered against the other side of my head. There is also a ring of mascara smudged around my right eye because I'd forgotten that I'd even put any on last night and apparently I slept on my face. Beautiful, indeed.

In any case, there was a whole lot more snow out there than I had even imagined. My annoyance quickly turned to gratitude as soon as I realized what I would have been facing by myself this morning. My parents are the best! Even though I know that they woke me up this morning on purpose.

An hour later the sidewalks and driveway were cleared and I'd been given updated instructions on how to run the snowblower so as to avoid another incident like I had last winter and my parents were gone.

Nap time.

I'd like to say that I spent the rest of my morning catching up on sleep. I tried. My roommate was awake by the time I got back in the house so we had the obligatory catch-up session. I finally managed to crawl back into bed and pass out only to wake up again an hour later to the ringing doorbell, pounding on the front door and Oliver barking and hopping up and down the bed like a maniac. Sadly, I was too disoriented to make it to the door on time. I have no idea who was there. Probably not someone I would have allowed to see me in my current state of dishevelment anyway (those people would all come to the backdoor) but I am baffled by the number of visitors (yeah, two) that this house has had today. It's like the gods are conspiring to keep me from getting any rest.

Aha! But I have prevailed.

I'm rested!

Still disheveled (yikes), but rested.

From here, it should be an easy coast on through the weekend.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland