The Better Part of Me...

Crazy Life Fueled by Crazy Dreams
2004-12-13 @ 9:04 a.m.

I had my meeting with the high school reunion planning�whatever (team?) last night. Old friend (we�ll just call her Alaska from now on) picked me up and we walked into this bizarre social scenario full of the most random people we used to go to school with. The planning wasn�t very labor intensive � the tables were too long and we couldn�t hear what was going on at the other end, so Alaska and I drank and gossiped with an old class heartthrob (now married father of two) who was stuck at the �loser� table with us. In the end, however, I do feel like I contributed valuable input to the planning and I think this reunion might go off better than I had originally feared.

It�s no trip to Hawaii though we should have just as much alcohol. We�ll just have significantly less frolicking in bikinis and catfighting over boys we haven�t seen in 10 years. OR WILL WE?

***

Um.

The weekend was so weird. I�m walking away from it feeling kind of broken.

I know there�s a reason that it worked out the way it did and I can even tell you what I�m pretty sure that reason is and I can also tell you that given that reason I am actually kind of relieved/thankful that things worked out the way they did.

I�m just frustrated. Discouraged. Irritated. Sad. Confused.

I�m glad it�s the holidays (which is probably exactly what you didn�t expect me to say). I have family obligations the next few weekends. Miguel will be home in about a week to offer me both a desperately needed hug and at least one night of drama-free social life. There is plenty here to keep me distracted for the next few weeks and I think that�s exactly what I need.

***

The Captain by Ingram Hill.

I am SO IN LOVE.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland