The Better Part of Me...

Monday Monday
2004-10-18 @ 9:49 a.m.

This morning I apparently brushed my teeth just enough to have a mouth full of foam and then proceeded to shake my head vigorously (like a dog) in order to spray my entire front side with toothpaste. That is, at least, the impression I have every time I look down at the numerous and scattered toothpaste splotches all over my sweater.

What would be nice is if I could stay clean for more than 2 minutes at a time. Or at least before I get to work in the morning. I don�t think people really believe that the clothes are clean when I put them on. I�m just THAT uncoordinated. Either there are dirt marks on the cuffs of my pants from where Oliver has thrown his mud covered ball at me, or there are toothpaste (or oatmeal) splotches on the front of my shirt from where I apparently dribbled all over myself while trying to eat/clean myself in the morning. Sometimes there are both. I�m the coolest. I need a bib.

***

Right now at my house I have a box of wine sitting on the back porch. This is my attempt to class the place up a bit. I�m working my way up to 40�s in the fridge and beer bottle caps as art in the living room. Also, I think the amount of alcohol in our refrigerator is inversely (or is that conversely?) proportionate to the amount of alcohol that we drink at home�ever (which is to say that we rarely drink at home). I�m not sure when this happened or even how this happened but it really is a sight to behold. We�re lucky we can still fit some food in there.

***

Friday afternoon I arrived home to find one of these:

In our front yard.

I had no idea where it came from but thought perhaps it was Sarah T. pitching in to help class the place up. As it turns out, however, it�s an ongoing tradition in Sarah T�s family and it was our duty to transport this gem to someone else (though we had to be sure it would be someone who wouldn�t destroy it). This is how we found ourselves dressed almost entirely in black at midnight on Saturday night loading the awkwardly shaped thing into Sarah T�s car, parking a half block away from her brother�s house and then sneaking (well, as sneakily as we could with the cumbersome thing) to his lawn to set the thing up. It was all very criminalesque and reminiscent of my teepee�ing days of yore.

***

Other than the above, the weekend was nothing to write home about. I�m struggling (not very successfully) with the urge to hibernate and the urge to withdraw back into my shell (which would be like�double hibernation). My sister and I had what can only be described as a Sims nerd-off and then laughed our way through two movies that were not intended to be comedies. I was fairly moody and passive-aggressive all weekend which had to have been 19 different kinds of fun for Sarah T. However, she still made me a cup of hot cocoa (with whipped cream!) during the Vikings (yay!) game last night, so if there had ever been any question before I think this settles it once and for all � Sarah T. is a peach.

***

Happy Monday y�all.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland