The Better Part of Me...

Pop Culture Update
2004-10-12 @ 10:58 a.m.

So.

How are YOU?

***

There�s not much to say. That being the case � I present:

Pop culture update:

Book: Memoirs of a Geisha. I think I�m a couple years behind on this one. Miss M. has told me repeatedly that this is her favorite book of all time and because our tastes tend to differ dramatically, I have put off checking it out. What a mistake. This book is fantastic. I�m so sucked in � I find myself sitting at the kitchen table in the morning reading it right up to the point where I have to walk out the door or I�m going to be late for work. I am fascinated by Geisha life.

Movie: I saw Saved! over the weekend. As a product of Christian (Catholic) schools I had a profound appreciation for the humor in this movie. I also loved how it took digs at the hypocrisy of the church. I also love Jena Malone and Patrick Fugit, and Mandy Moore as the �bad guy�. So I think it�s safe to say that I was a big fan of this movie.

Show(s): I haven�t discussed how happy I�ve been now that the fall season is in full swing. I�ve become hopelessly caught up in the Gilmore Girls this season (it�s all because of the Luke, too. I�m in love with the Luke.) and my crush on Everwood that started last season has carried over to this season (although � Ephram and Bright broke up last night and I am NOT NOT NOT happy about that. Bright is one of my most serious TV boyfriends.) with the extra super special added bonus of Scott Wolf (the dimples!) this season. Oh. And Anne Heche too. One Tree Hill is back and better (badder?) than ever � perhaps it�s because I was pulled in from the very beginning (even when it was really really bad), but this show has me completely sucked in and I�m so curious to see what they�re going to do with �new and improved� post-heart attack Dan. Also � cute boys.

As far as new shows go � I instantly liked Jack and Bobby although it�s been kind of boring to me lately. Jack is so hot though that the storyline could be completely insipid and I�d still tune in just to feast my eyes. The Mountain is just so�so bad. I love Oliver Hudson and I adore Anson Mount and, again, I�ll tune in every week just to feast my eyes, but oh�it�s so bad. I keep hoping it will run the same course as One Tree Hill which started out almost completely unwatchable and was actually quite good by the end of last season. We shall see. Lost wins as this season�s most hopelessly addictive/promising new show. I love the eerie tone of it � there are aspects of it that remind me a lot of Carnivale (which I miss!). I love how they just feed us bits and pieces of info each episode. Eventually they�re going to have to pick up the pace or I�m sure it�ll become completely boring, but so far I�m totally intrigued. Plus? Matthew Fox. This must be the year of Party of Five.

*sigh* One more month until the return of The O.C.! Oh Seth Cohen! How I�ve missed you!

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland