The Better Part of Me...

Hugs from Home
2004-10-05 @ 12:51 p.m.

This weekend I learned a lot of stuff, ate pancakes, had some kind of emotional breakthrough and then promptly got sick. The end.

***

My dad was home this past weekend. It was good to see him. I was nervous about seeing that side of my family for the first time since my grandma died in April, but I shouldn�t have been. I�ve never seen a finer demonstration of life�going on.

I�ve never felt more comfortable with that side of my family. I don�t know if it was because there were no children � it was just my aunts and uncles, my dad & my grandpa. Perhaps it�s the new dynamic of the household. Maybe I�m just older and maybe I�ve just accepted more about my life and how it�s going to be. I don�t know. I do know that for the first time since I can remember � I was my actual self with that side of my family and for the first time since I can remember � nobody had a problem with that.

My grandpa is dating again. I think the key to the emotional shift in my relationship with everyone I spent time with on Saturday lies there. I haven�t figured out how or why just yet, but something about that fact turns a lot of things around.

I spent some time talking about my trip to Germany next spring. The wheels have been put into motion and it�s looking more and more like it�s actually going to happen. We talked about some side trips to Rome or possibly London. I�d still like to see Paris. On the other hand, apparently my dad�s house looks out on a 13th century castle (just outside of Frankfurt) so it�s possible that side trips may not even be necessary. I could conceivably be happy with a cup of coffee and a seat on my dad�s front porch. Or something. It should be good. I get more and more excited about it every day.

Things were good. Things are good. Then I got sick. But things are still good. I�m still a little sick (things=still good) but I�m not as sick as I was and I decided that regardless of how wobbly my stomach feels right now, it would be best if I shower (at least) and stick to my routine.

This whole thing sounds a lot more boring than it actually is.

***

I signed up for Hugs from Home a couple weeks ago. I adopted two soldiers and sent my first letter in last Monday. I�ve been excited about doing this since I stumbled upon it because I am all into this sort of carebear type pen-pally stuff, but y�all? I�m not sure there�s a better feeling than when you hear back from one of your �adopted� soldiers. It was all I could do to not jump up and down and squeal with delight when I got my first response today.

If you�re at all interested. If you believe in this sort of stuff at all � it�s worth looking into. Christmas is coming�

I�m just sayin�.

That�s all I got today. I have some catchin� up to do.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland