The Better Part of Me...

These are the Days
2004-09-13 @ 2:46 p.m.

Sometimes I�m not very fond of living with people. There are days when I come home from work and want to lose myself in solitude in the hours before bedtime. There are days when I resent � 100% - having to clean up a mess that isn�t mine. It�s not always fun and games�

�but man. When it�s Saturday afternoon and you�ve spent the whole day slaving away � scrubbing floors and doing laundry and mowing the lawn � and all you want to do is get out of town for a couple of hours and just do something fun for a change � then there�s nothing better than having a roommate like Sarah T. to jump on the bandwagon with you.

Not 45 minutes after I uttered the words Pottery Mall in Redwing, Sarah T. and I were on the road. It was a beautiful day, the leaves are just starting to change (so we took the scenic route) and we spent the afternoon leisurely strolling through one of my favorite (local) historical landmarks.

It�s not necessarily a very �young� or �hip� way to spend the weekend (especially considering that the entire rest of the weekend was made up of housework, grocery shopping, more housework, and football), and when Sarah T. poked her nose out of the refrigerator (which she was organizing) and looked at me while I scrubbed the burner trays on the stove and said �Oh shit. It�s Saturday night. What are we doing?� I felt a little too old for comfort, but I have to say that I feel good today. It was satisfying. I got some stuff done and I had some nice leisure time.

Mostly, though, I think I�m just glad to have someone in the boat with me right now.

(And by �boat� I guess I mean �house� but boat totally sounds better there)

P.S. GO VIKES!

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland