The Better Part of Me...

Light Up, Light up...as if you had a choice.
2004-09-10 @ 3:01 p.m.

Shelly: Okay, even though I am dying, I think I will take a walk. It will probably be shorter than usual, but at least it will be something.

*5 minutes later*

Shelly: And by �shorter� I really mean�.nahhhh.

Co-Worker: What happened?

Shelly: First of all, it�s windier than Hell out there. I mean, it almost knocked me over.

Co-Worker: Yeah, it�s pretty windy out today.

Shelly: Yeah. And then I kicked a gopher.

*silence*

Co-Worker: You did�what?

Shelly: Yeh. I have no idea where it came from. I�m just walking along on the busy, urban, DOWNTOWN, heavily trafficked street in the middle of a concrete paradise when all the sudden there was this�thud. Felt kind of like I kicked a beachball or something. So I do a little hop skip to the side and look down to see what�s going on and there�s this tiny little gopher all dazed and confused flopped over on his back. As I watch he jumps up and shakes himself off and proceeds to run straight into the wall. I was terrified. Finally he just sort of took a sec, thought out his best course of action and disappeared under a bush. I think he was awful embarrassed.

*uncontrollable laughter*

Shelly: I see you think this is funny. I do not have very good luck with gophers.

Co-Worker: Sounds like, actually, gophers don�t have much luck with you. Look at it this way, your dog would be proud.

Shelly: Well, that�s true. He�s going to be all �My mom is the coolest!� when he finds out about this.�

***

I bought �Guster on Ice� the other day and have fallen in love all over again.

Also, I�m not sure if Snow Patrol is on the list of bands that make you super cool if you like them or if liking them makes me a big fat poser but what I do know is that their song �Run� is heartbreakingly beautiful and I can�t stop listening to it.

It could be just a phase.

***

I�m pretty crabby today so I don�t really feel like wishing anyone a happy weekend but I will do so anyway just because I�m still pretty fond of you, internet. That, my darling internet, puts you in an incredibly elite group of people right now. You lucky dog you.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland