The Better Part of Me...

It Turned Colder...That's Where it Ends....
2004-09-07 @ 10:40 a.m.

All things considered, the weekend was a perfect ending to this summer.

Sure, Operation Summer Whore was a bust. I�m no closer to making physical contact with a boy than I was 3 months ago and there were a few things that knocked me off my ride a couple times this summer (and which may, or may not have affected the success � or lack thereof � of Operation Summer Whore) but I think I figured out why that happens and I think that in the long run it�s going to be a good thing and so I think that, finally, I�m okay with it.

Even though I still think it would be nice to kiss a boy again. Y�know�someday. I suppose.

In any case, the last camping of the season turned out to be the best camping of the season. The weather was perfect for boating and swimming and baking in the sun. I�ve been digging sand out of my ears since Sunday afternoon. No, I have no explanation for that. My skin is a lovely sort of brown/red color right now and my whole body is sort of sore as a result of its participation in activities it is no longer used to (READ: exercise). I went golfing. Golfing! I haven�t golfed in at least 4 years. It was a pleasant surprise to find out that, all modesty aside, I�m still pretty awesome at that game. I was a little uncomfortable with how well I was playing at the time, but secretly I think it�s great that I�m some kind of golfing genius. Finally, a marketable skill.

In all seriousness, I think I just needed to be good at something right now.

It feels like fall now. Like, it�s official. The air is cooler and crisper and my yard is starting to fill with all sorts of colorful crunchy leaves. The timing is perfect. I�m ready for football season and bonfires and morning frost. I�m ready for squash and pumpkins and thick sweaters. I�m ready for raking parties at my house with pumpkin beer and pizzas. I�m just ready�for whatever comes next I suppose.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland