The Better Part of Me...

Windows
2004-06-28 @ 3:47 p.m.

I always pick out a random guy. I don�t necessarily have a crush on the random, but he�s someone I definitely keep my eye on. I�ll make up stories about him in my head and every once in a while I lead myself down the road to a bona fide crush. It�s always the guy you�d least expect too. It�s interesting that the boys who have been stereotypically labeled �Shelly boyss� in the past are usually the ones I hate upon site. It turns out that it�s usually the nerdier, quieter types that capture my attention and keep me fascinated for weeks (sometimes months) at a time.

It�s not that I stalk these boys. I just sort of make a mental note whenever I cross paths with them. I�m the shy type so I don�t actually make contact very often, but I always smile and there�s always a �hello� if appropriate. I probably blush too, though not in any kind of beet red embarressing way. I don�t want to appear to be too weird (even though I probably am). I�m just naturally curious and for some reason or another my brain just fixates on certain people.

The boy, lately, has been this super tall super skinny guy with this wild curly hair that he let grow long so it flopped around his face. He�s quiet, but when he talks his voice has a lovely deep baritone sound to it. I like that he�s quiet though, it gives me the impression that he�s not worried about proving anything to anyone and he�s comfortable in his own skin. (It could be the opposite of this, I know, but I don�t think it is.) He strikes me as polite, possibly even friendly given the right circumstances. I think that he would be a good person to have on your team for anything because I think he�d work well with others while still lending his own individual strengths to the effort.

Up until now the most striking thing about this guy was his hair. Sometime in the last 48 hours he cut it off. Interestingly � the most striking thing about the guy now is still his hair, only for a different reason. That will fade with time. Upon discovering him (in the lunchroom today) it was all I could do to not stop staring. He looks completely different � but in a way that sort of kickstarted my heart more than anything. I found myself wondering why he cut it off � it�s not like it�s been a hot summer or anything. I wonder if he did it for charity but then I wonder if my imagination is getting carried away with itself (probably). I�m so intrigued. I�m so drawn in. I�m not obsessed because I do generally leave this at work at the end of the day.

In the middle of the stories I weave about my new random, I wonder what he would think if he knew. I wonder if anyone has ever weaved stories about me. I wonder if they�ve kept track of when I leave for lunch every day or if they�ve noted how easily I tend to laugh when engaged in conversation. I wonder how many people are out there right now being sort of��fantasized� about without ever even knowing it. It�s sort of an awesome thing to think about.

I need more sleep.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland