The Better Part of Me...

Tricky
2004-03-29 @ 8:01 p.m.

Spring is lovely. I'd had a raging case of spring fever that had been nursed into a purring sleepy pussycat contentment by the recent warm weather, greening grass and budding trees. I spent the weekend with windows open and walked around town in sandals and jeans (and a shirt and lightweight coat, lest you think I was topless). It was lovely.

Minnesota, though, is tricky.

This morning I headed to work in a casual sort of work outfit (the type that is usually reserved for Fridays but is acceptable for Mondays that may otherwise be unbearable) and a spring fleece jacket. The sky was pure blue, the wind was brisk but the temperatures were moderate, birds were singing, fellow pedestrians were making conversation with me (What? I know. This almost never happens.) and visions of sandy beaches and sunscreen were floating in my head.

This afternoon was Hell. Sometime between 7:30 this morning and 5:00 this evening Minnesota decided it missed winter a little bit. The sky clouded over and the temperatures dropped and that brisk morning wind turned into something arctic, frigid and painful. My eyes teared and my hands, shoved as far into the flimsy fleece jacket as they could be, froze.

Tricked! I was tricked! And I am not at all happy. Reports call for light snowfall overnight. I am prepared for drastic whining measures.

***

I woke up at 2:00 a.m. this morning to find Oliver spooning me.

This is not an exaggeration. His little muzzle was resting on the side of my neck, and when I moved my head a little (startled because, y'know, I'd gone to bed alone...) his little paw came up and rested on my shoulder as if to say "shhhh, it's okay baby, I'm right here..."

Awww...apparently I don't need to worry about getting married ever. I've got all the creature comforts I need right here.

***

Listening To: No Myth by Michael Penn

Reading: Champagne at Midnight by (the author of Vinegar Hill. Whoops.)

Recently Saw: "Honey" which is basically "Glitter" meets "Save the Last Dance" meets "West Side Story" but mostly "Glitter." Jessica Alba somehow manages to be very Mariah Carey-ish and mostly the dramatic scenes just make you want to burst out laughing.

Also: "The Magdalene Sisters" which is a truly horrific recounting of the Magdalene laundries that existed in Ireland until 1996. It doesn't offer a favorable view of the Catholic church and it begs the question (one I've asked quite often lately) "how can you ever know that you're doing Gods work? What if you really really truly believe that you're doing the work of God, but to the rest of the world it is obvious that this can NOT be the work of God because surely God would never be so damning and unforgiving..." (it's a really good topic for marathon phone conversations and late night philosophical conversations. Believe me - I've been over and over and over it lately.) Anyhow - it's a good movie in that "Capturing the Friedmans" and "Rabbit-Proof Fence" kind of way.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland