The Better Part of Me...

Hit & Run Valentine
2004-02-21 @ 9:35 p.m.

This night sucks.

I think that if/when all of my friends pair up, I'm going to be an ugly, ugly person. Turns out, I don't handle being dumped for a significant other very well. Also turns out that I'm not terribly fond of being a third wheel all the time. Also turns out that I'm old enough now for people to be concerned about the fact that I'm single. I would be a kickass spinster for real, it's just not something I had ever seriously thought people might peg me as.

Weird.

So anyhow - Madison. Madison was a blast. A for real blast. I wish Madison was closer. I wish I had fun like that more often.

My arrival on Friday night was met by Bear and her wriggling bundle of craziness, Holly...

Holly is crazy cute, no?

Anyhow - Friday night was spent at The Annex where I got to finally catch The Lovemonkeys in concert. Bear has been crazy in love with this band for over a year now, so it was nice to finally catch a show. They were fantastic. They have tremendous energy and the lead singer (John, if you will) can really work the crowd. Also? They do a cover of "Laid" by James. Oh yeah, and I had the mic thrust in my face for one of the high, yodel-esque parts. I sang with the band y'all. I am a rock and roll queen (more on that later).

Anyhow, it was a blast. It was also a motley crew of people -

Six girls who mostly didn't know each other. It's a long story. It worked out well though and any initial awkwardness was long gone by the end of the evening. Also - we were drunk. Well...some of us. And by some of us, I mean some of them. And by some of them...oh fuck it, nevermind.

Bear and I finally had a decent picture taken of ourselves - even though my teeth appear to be flourescent yellow (I assure you, they are not)...

So Saturday night was Valentine's Day. I will forever refer to it as my "Hit & Run Valentine's Day" for reasons I refuse to go into because I fear for my life. Let's just say that any sanctuary churches offer does not extend to the parking lot.

Because it was Valentine's Day it was difficult to find anywhere to go/anything to do. Also? We appeared to be a happy lesbian couple which was a little bit awesome. Especially when we found ourselves nestled (well, not together) on a leather couch at a bar at the edge of the "gay district" (for lack of better description, and from what I understand. I'm obviously not from there so I'm basically pulling shit out of my ass right now) of Madison. That is where we stayed for the remainder of the evening - like the aging rock stars that we are.

Sunday was lazy. We slept in. We lazed about watching crazy Japanese reality shows. We saw a movie. We saw Matt Nathanson.

And it was - AWESOME.

I think I mentioned before how I'd heard of Matt Nathanson before but never really got into it. The concert changed all that. He's fantastic in concert. The music is great and the talking he does in between sets is like watching a comedy show. He's quick witted and smart. I've gotten some of his live stuff since last weekend and I find myself laughing out loud whenever I listen to it. He rocks my socks. For real.

Apparently he knows me too - cuz when asked for an autograph, he gave me this:

He must have been at the show on Friday night.

In any case - I fell a little bit in love with him last Sunday night. And then we met him.

*sigh*

He's the nicest. I know that he's not all uber famous and jaded rockstar guy, but I wasn't expecting the level of friendliness that we received. There were hugs. There was conversation. There were more hugs. The nicest. No kidding.

It was a great weekend. One of the best "birthday" weekends I've had in a long time. If I didn't say it before, thanks for everything Bear. Awesome.

(Apparently I now use this journal to speak directly to the people I know are reading it. That must make me pretty awesome. Right?)

I returned home on Monday (my birthday) tired and happy - reunited with the current love of my life...

...and discovered that I had Fun!Mail! Turns out that Pam is something like the best internet girlfriend ever.

That's my shrine to pop culture. The OC poster on the wall? That's from Pam. She also sent an awesome CD with...HANSON on it. But the best (and also weirdest) part is that the Hanson stuff? Is awesome. And not in an ironic way either. It's really good!

(Please also note the autographed Matt Nathanson poster. Oh yeah. And the New Kids.)

Then it snowed some more.

I wish it would stop that. Even though it's pretty.

In my world - we get birthday weeks. Tonight was my family birthday party (where I received such gifts as a loaf of bread and several pounds of raw ground beef. You can ask, but I'm really not sure I can explain.) and, as it turns out - while Pam is the best internet girlfriend ever, Sara is the best BFF ever because I was 100% completely surprised by the amazon delivery that arrived at my door this afternoon. Unfortunately I had already given up the digital camera, but she sent me this and it ROCKS. And so does she. And thank you thank you thank you thank you guys!

Longest entry ever. The end.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland