The Better Part of Me...

Underwear in Bulk
2004-02-12 @ 1:08 p.m.

This next thing is not for the faint of heart.

I don't know if I ever told you guys this but right after Christmas Victoria's Secret (too lazy to link) had a clearance sale on my very favorite underwear and so I shopped online and picked out 7 of my favorite pair, but then I freaked out about 7 pairs of new underwear and decided that I really only needed 5 pairs so I tried to cut my list down and I played with some numbers and clickety clicked my way through the screens and finally got to the "THANK YOU FOR YOUR PURCHASE" screen and suddenly realized that I'd just accidentally purchased 14 pairs of new underwear.

Whoopsadaisy!

I am, for the most part, pretty lazy, so I decided to keep the 14 pairs of new underwear (that, even on clearance, cost way more than I should be spending on an article of clothing that nobody ever sees) and simply vowed not to purchase another pair of underwear again for the entirety of 2004.

The other day I received a gift card from Victoria's Secret in honor of my Birthday. It's a $10 off of any purchase certificate. I immediately got all excited about the 10 free dollars before realizing that I do not need new underwear. Not only do I not need new underwear, but I also do not need new perfume. Underwear and perfume are pretty much the only things Victoria's Secret has to offer me because - as much as I love their underwear, I hate VS bras equally as much. The onset of my rational thought was kind of a bummer, but even more depressing was the realization that I really had only received the certificate because I had bought a lifetime supply of underwear from them just about a month ago. Suddenly it seems very wrong that I bought underwear in bulk (basically) - and that's just not at all sexy. I feel as though now might be the time to start scoping out those old lady houses by the sea, and to possibly overcome my severe cat allergy.

***

So - I turn 27 on Monday.

I'm not going to be around between now and then as I am heading to Madison for madcap adventures with Bear and the Gang. Usually this time of year has me going into hiding to escape all the weirdness and wankiness that occurs over the next few days and I've been so amazed at how normal I've felt. I'm hoping that maybe I'm getting too old to be as neurotic as I've been in the past, but I'm thinking it's more likely just that I've had these plans for a while now and the plans haven't been centered around either of the two holidays that make this time of year kind of wanky for me. Distraction is a powerful tool.

I'm going to try to bring my parents' digital camera with me to Madison so hopefully I'll be able to document some of the hilarity that is sure to abound this weekend.

Happy Weekend (early)!

***

Listening To: Bohemian Like You by the Dandy Warhols because I *am* this song.

Still Reading: The Da Vinci Code. I don't know how much quality reading time I'll get in this weekend, so this may be temporarily on hold.

Recently Saw: The OC last night. I can't decide how I feel about the fact that Oliver didn't kill himself. I know I'm upset that he didn't at least mortally wound Marissa because I'm fairly certain there has never been a more moronic character in the history of television. I'm also a little bit in love with Peter Gallagher (as Sandy Cohen). Now I'm mostly looking forward to some Seth/Summer time and...more Luke please!

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland