The Better Part of Me...

Keep it Together
2004-01-30 @ 2:59 p.m.

I like to think that I do a good job of holding it together when things are falling apart. I think I might give myself away when my eyes tear up at the slightest deviation from absolute normal though. Maybe.

It's one thing when I'm home alone and I see that a member of my family is calling because when I stare skeptically at my phone for several seconds before taking a deep breath and answering it - nobody has to know. It's another thing entirely when an email shows up in my inbox and even though it doesn't say anything even remotely sappy or sad, it makes my heart throb in the breaking places and causes me to wipe aggressively at my eyes as though they only itch.

I wonder how long this feeling of impending disaster will hang over me, even after the disaster has passed.

***

It's a little somber for a Friday, I know, but it's a cloud I carry around with me most of the time these days, so I thought I'd just put it out there.

2 more hours til it's officially the weekend. It's too cold to do anything so I'm going to try very hard not to. The official temp here right now is -7 degrees (feels like -27). It's not that I think that the weather makes for fascinating reading, it's just that this weather is ridiculous and I'm not above using it to make you feel sorry for me.

Happy weekend!

***

Listening To: Back to the Teitur album (Poetry & Aeroplanes) - and I think that I might actually like the whole album which doesn't happen a lot. Needs a little more time to sink in, but it's looking that way so far.

Reading: Last 40 pages of House of Sand and Fog. I DID IT!

Recently Saw: What is with the THursday night reruns right now? It makes me want to kick the tv.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland