The Better Part of Me...

NYE 2003
2003-12-31 @ 12:11 p.m.

I'm pitching my tent in Pam's camp today.

I am not a New Year's holiday fan. I mean, I enjoy that I get the day off of work and I appreciate the fact that the world (and humanity) has existed for yet another year (despite our best laid plans) but I gotta be honest here - I hate New Year's Eve.

I hate it.

I have had spectacular New Years celebrations too. I have gotten all glammed up and hit the dance floor. I have drunk myself silly. I have kissed random boys. I have found myself sitting on a loveseat in the VIP room of some dance club with my shirt wholly unbuttoned hooting out "HAPPY NOON EAR" to anyone who walked by and no clue - no clue how these things happened. Good times. Good times, and yet exceptions to the rule.

I hate the pressure of New Years. I hate how it's this huge production even if you try not to make it one. I hate that there's kissing at midnight because if you, like me, do not have someone to kiss - there is a certain feeling of panic that settles deep in your belly as the "magic" hour approaches and you stuff yourself full of liquid courage and hope to God that by the time midnight rolls around there are enough drunk people in the room that you can just grab one and kiss away.

Yeah. About that? That's not me.

It's not that I've never done it - it's just that I'm not comfortable doing it. It's not fun for me. Especially not anymore - I'm past the novelty of kissing random boys. I want to kiss the boy, and if I can't kiss the boy, then I don't want to kiss anyone (which is kind of a lie, but mostly true) - but in any case - who needs this kind of pressure?

Too. Much. Pressure.

So - tonight I'll either curl up at home with the puppy and some Netflix, or I'll grab the puppy and head out to my parents house to spend some time with my stepbrother and sister-in-law. No bars. No expectations. No bullshit. There's a part of me that feels like maybe I'm missing out on something here - that by not going out I'll miss all the best stories, but I'm thinking that it's probably a good idea for me to just take this year off and get through this my own way.

2003 wasn't terrible. 2004 doesn't appear to be promising much more than that. It's just another day...

That said - Happy NOON EAR everybody!

***

Listening To:

Reading: I finished Gap Creek last night. I thoroughly enjoyed it. The writing style was right up my alley and the characters fascinated me. It's not necessarily a "feel good" book, but it's not as messed up as the ones I've particularly liked lately. If you haven't read it and you're up for something new...it's worth checking out.

Recently Saw: Mona Lisa Smile last night. It was good. Not great. But not horrible. THere was some weird editing, the characters and their storylines weren't as fleshed out as they really could have been, but it was entertaining. And it had a good message. And - it drew a single solitary tear from me in the end.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland