The Better Part of Me...

The Beautiful Letdown
2003-12-26 @ 12:36 p.m.

Christmas. She is over.

I gotta admit, I'm a little happy about it.

I do love Christmas and mine was fantastic, but it's exhausting. I'm still recovering from my sudden, yet explosive burst of youthful sleep deprivation on Tuesday night because there has been no downtime since then. I might just sleep all weekend. I'm looking forward (more than ever) to a 3 day week next week.

Despite my Christmas induced exhaustion (I half wonder if maybe I'm still in a food coma? It wouldn't be particularly surprising given the amount of food I have ingested in the last 48 hours) Christmas was fun. As I mentioned before - there were 22 of us at my grandparents house on Christmas Eve. It was certainly the chaotic scene that you would imagine a house crammed with 22 people would be. Everything was done in a frenzy - Chili was eaten, Santa Claus came, Presents were unwrapped, thank you's were screamed across the room and finally...silence.

The festivities didn't end until after midnight - at which time I arrived home and decided to put up the new curtains my sister had made me for my kitchen. By that time I was stumbling a bit, and my hand eye coordination had become virtually non existant. I finally left all the other presents in various heaps around the kitchen and practically crawled down the hall into bed.

Yesterday was done in a much lower key. Dinner at my parents house for 15. There wasn't the frenzied pace of the night before, but there were still uncles involved. The uncles are the most exhausting things. The uncles tickle. The children scream. The uncles tickle. The children scream. And by children I, of course, mean me. At 6 p.m. yesterday evening I drove home, turned on the Christmas lights, and sat playing sim city 4 in total silence for 2 hours straight.

The weekend will be spent playing with friends. I don't spend enough time playing with friends, so I figure while I'm in the mode of "not as lazy as I usually am" I'll get all caught up with my play time.

Happy weekend!

***

Listening To: I bought myself the Maroon 5 CD (before Christmas even - shhhhhh!) and I just stuck it in the CD player in my car yesterday. I haven't really decided what I think of it yet. I *think* it might be one of those albums I have to listen to a couple of times before I feel anything one way or the other for it.

Reading: Gap Creek by Robert Morgan still. Hoping to finish it this weekend (when I'm not out playing, that is).

Recently Saw: Video's from my uncle's African Safari trip a couple months ago. Am so jealous. Will begin planning my own African Safari trip upon return from Germany.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland