The Better Part of Me...

Christmas Miracle
2003-12-24 @ 9:07 a.m.

Everything is okay.

All is forgiven.

Things are never as bad as you think they are (except sometimes when they are, but that has been proven to be the exception to the rule, even though you'll bring it up as evidence to prove the rule in arguments). Sometimes things work out right and that surprises you. Sometimes there are no fireworks, no lightning bolts, no electrical currents or grandiose displays - but things are still okay in a way that just makes it easier to get up in the morning.

I think that maybe, in the end, that's what it's all about.

***

Spent some time with boys last night. I miss spending time with boys. I love my girlfriends to pieces, but there is something about hanging out with boys that just sort of soothes all my ruffled feathers.

There was beer. There was gambling. There was really bad karaoke. I laughed so hard that my eyes watered and I performed some hooliganism on some cell phones. I planned to be home by 10 p.m. and at 1 a.m. I found myself earnestly leaning across the table to coaching the shy one on asking girls out. They forget that I'm a girl sometimes, and short of flashing my boobies, I'm not sure what I can do to remind them that I am capable of giving an accurate female perspective. At 1:30 a.m. I sat shivering in my car trying to explain the New Kids on the Block Christmas song that came blaring from my speakers. It was 2:15 a.m. by the time I pulled into my driveway. Fifteen minutes later I fell into bed and passed out almost immediately.

I think it's safe to say that the real Christmas miracle here is that I made it to work today at all - much less that I clocked in at 7:00 a.m. on the dot. Not even one minute late.

That's right. I still got it.

Merry Christmas Y'all!

***

Listening To: God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen by the Barenaked Ladies featuring Sarah McLachlan and this, my friends, is my favorite Christmas Carol OF THE YEAR. I seriously rock out to it in my car. It's one of my favorite Christmas carols anyway because I love the refrain so much, but this version just floors me every time I hear it.

Reading: Gap Creek by Robert Morgan. It's much better than I was expecting it to be. My sister had said that it was a little long winded, but I haven't gotten that from it at all yet. I get lost in it every time I pick it up.

Recently Saw: It's been a cuh-razy week 'round here. My family is home from all over the country and that makes every night family night. I haven't sat in front of a TV since sometime last Saturday morning. Pretty sure. It's good times though and I know this time with my family (and friends) is going to pass all too soon, so I'm enjoying it. Christmas festivities begin tonight. There'll be 22 of us at my grandparents house. Here's hoping we don't cave the floor in!

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland