The Better Part of Me...

It's Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas
2003-12-22 @ 9:40 a.m.

Ten years ago we�d have probably sat sulkily in our seats trying to pretend that each of the others, and most especially the parents, didn�t even exist. We�d have buried our noses in books or magazines or the latest portable game device and we probably would have kicked or punched anyone who dared to get within a 2 foot radius of our �personal space.� It would have been a long, silent, miserable day trip.

Yesterday we piled into the big red van (affectionately nicknamed �The Chili Wagon�) that my parents are currently using as a winter beater car and for the first time in ages my family took a Christmas trip together. We�ve grown since then � both physically as people and in family size. Any thoughts of personal space were quickly extinguished by the extra body space taken up by my sister-in-law (SIL) and my sister�s boyfriend (SBF). We piled the presents in the back and my sister whipped out a stash of magazines to distribute. Five minutes into the 90 minute road trip, it began.

Sister: Uh! How come Stepbrother and SIL get Burger King! We didn�t get Burger King! Mom, can we stop and get snacks?

Mom: No.

Stepbrother: Are we there yet?

Shelly: Sister has to pee!

Stepdad: We have a plastic bag up here if you need it�

When things finally died down (without any threats to turn this car around and go home) we began flipping through the magazines to begin our assault on pop culture.

SIL: UGH! I hate Mandy Moore!

Sister: Shelly love�s Mandy Moore, you better watch out.

Shelly: I don�t love Mandy Moore, I just think that of all the pop princesses out there right now, she�s one of the least offensive. I don�t mind her.

Sister: Seriously. She loves her. You better watch out.

***

SIL: I don�t mind Christina Aguilara so much because at least she�s just�out there.

SBF: If by �out there� you mean skanky.

Sister: Seriously � look at her hair. And that makeup is making me nauseous.

Shelly: I actually like her hair better dark. I think the real problem here is her face.

Sister: And the bottle of bronzer she apparently dumped all over her body before these pictures were taken.

Shelly: But mostly her face. Really.

***

Sister: OHMYGOD! What is UP Aretha Franklin! Check out her boobs!

Shelly: Woah! Those aren�t boobs. Those are bazoomba�s!

Mom: Let me see!

SIL: You�d think if you�re seeing that much boob, there�d be a nipple in there somewhere! Where the Hell are her nipples?

Shelly: I�m sure they�re folded under there somewhere.

Sister: EW! They�re all tucked underneath?!

Shelly: I�m sure once your boobs have reached such phenomenal proportions, you learn how to fold and tuck.

***

By the time we reached our destination, Stepaunt and Stepuncle�s house, we had all become accustomed to the squeaking of the backseat every time we went over a bump. We�d also already been yelled at by Stepdad when we all decided to bounce on our seats simultaneously to make them squeak. We spent the day eating (and eating, and eating, and eating) and exchanging our white elephant gifts (Stepdad: I got a...purse!) and placing bets on who was more drunk than who. The younger crowds gathered in front of the roaring fire while the moms and aunts did the dishes, and we shook our heads at the amount of alcohol that must have to be consumed before doing the dishes becomes something that sounds fun to do at a Christmas family gathering. The answer? Lots. The ringleader? My mom.

Feeling a little bit sick to our stomachs (so. Many. Cookies.) we finally piled back into the Chili Wagon and began the trip home.

Sister: Wow. Grandpa has a lead foot.

SIL: Catch him! Get him!

Shelly: Is that them right beside us?

everybody waving maniacally

(silence)

SIL: Alright � now someone smash their boobs up against the window!

(silence)

SBF: *sigh* Okay�.

Let the Christmas festivities begin!

***

Listening To: The Most Fabulous Christmas Album Ever (no, that�s what it�s really called). And it IS really the most fabulous Christmas Album ever because it has songs like �Santa Baby� and �All I Want for Christmas is My Two Front Teeth,� �Baby It�s Cold Outside,� and the classic �Feliz Navidad.�

Reading: I finished �Why Girls are Weird� on Friday night. I really did love it. I couldn�t put it down. I have been converted to a full blown Pamie fan.

Now Reading: Gap Creek by Robert Morgan. So far it�s not bad at all�

Recently Saw: I watched Freaky Friday on Saturday night because I needed to let Chad Michael Murray be my boyfriend for a while. I actually quite enjoyed it. I even laughed out loud a couple of times. My sister�s BF even enjoyed the last 45 minutes of it (which is all that he caught). I�m not sure how I feel about Linsey Lohan, but the movie was entertaining if not groundbreaking.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland