The Better Part of Me...

Waking Nightmare
2003-12-17 @ 1:37 p.m.

It was like waking up to a nightmare.

At 1 a.m. on Tuesday morning something - some noise, some smell, some frantically heaving movement of my bed woke me up. My eyes slid open blearily and it took approximately 13 seconds for my brain to register that something was wrong.

Something. Was wrong.

That noise. That smell. That frantically heaving movement of my bed. Oh...

I sprang out of bed, startling my heaving little beastie into action and by the time I flipped on the light in my bedroom, it was far too late.

My eyes widened in horror as I took in the site. Puke. Everywhere. I had, apparently, been blanketed in it. It covered almost every square inch of my top layer of blanket, it had managed to find the outer edges of the down comforter the top layer of blanket is supposed to protect, and had even managed to work its way up to the flannel sheets I had been so cozily nestled into. Wide eyed I followed the trail of puke down the far side of the bed to find another enormous pile waiting on the area rug there. As I stood back up I noticed that the puke had somehow mysteriously been splattered all over the wall above where my head had been and that now my little canine maniac was gallavanting around the house on puke covered paws.

It was spectacular in a gruesome sort of way. So, immediately, I threw up.

What followed were several hours of my alternately attempting to clean the puke and trying not to puke myself. Laundry was done. Carpets were scrubbed. Windows were open. Air fresheners were put into place. By the end of the day yesterday, my room and top blanket still smelled a lot like puke, but the sheets were good as new and the wall had been scrubbed. The area rug took a bit of a beating, but is now mostly clean and eventually my inclination to dry heave at the very thought of the whole ordeal disappeared. I also stayed home from work sick yesterday.

Animal ownership is truly an adventure. How jealous are you right now?

***

Listening To: I boogied my way into work this morning to "On Love, In Sadness" by Jason Mraz. Good times, that one.

Reading: I managed to finish "Samaritan" by Richard Price while I was laying at home "recovering" yesterday. I liked it. I had kind of sort of figured out whodunnit before the book was over, so it didn't really blow my mind, and it kind of went on 3 chapters longer than it needed to, but it was still a good book.

Now starting: "Why Girls are Weird" by Pamie. My sister read it last week and said it was quite good, so I'm pretty excited about it.

Recently Saw: "How to Deal" - the latest teenybopper flick with Mandy Moore in it last night. I enjoyed it. It wasn't necessarily a good movie, but it was fairly fluffy and it gave me the love palpatations in certain parts of it, so...I enjoyed it. I also watched the Queer Eye gang on Oprah yesterday afternoon - and I pretty much think that I would marry either Kyan or Ted (or both) even though they're gay. I'm pretty sure I could live in a marriage without sex as long as it was with Kyan or Ted. Because I love those guys. Seriously.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland