The Better Part of Me...

Memory Lane
2003-12-01 @ 2:56 p.m.

My parents are in Las Vegas on a combined business/pleasure trip. I woke up at 4:45 a.m. on Friday morning to drive them to the airport. It was good times.

My sister and her boyfriend are staying at their house taking care of the dog, so I drove out there with Oliver last night to cook for them as a way of showing my appreciation for the fact that they hauled their asses out of bed on Friday morning to stand in line at Best Buy in order to secure me a brand new computer! I whipped up some of my world class Chicken Parmesan with spaghetti noodles and garlic bread, and while we were sitting there letting our bellies settle, my sister suddenly hopped up and dashed out of the room with a "Oh! I forgot to show you this!"

Seconds later she returned with a tiny photo album in which she was rummaging around trying to find the picture she wanted to show me. She handed the photo album over to me with a wild eyed look of glee and pride as I peeked at the pictures she had opened it to, and burst out laughing.

Doug.

It seems that everyone has a Doug these days. Doug was the second guy I was convinced I was going to marry. For those of you too lazy to link, we eventually broke each others hearts. We don't talk anymore. I don't remember the last time I heard from him, but I know that he's married now and despite everything we went through, I do hope that he's happy. In any case, I sat laughing at the pictures my sister had handed me (which, it turns out, is the long lost photo album that contains all of the senior pictures I aquired during that time - but more on that later).

Shelly: That. Is. AWESOME.

Sister: *laughing* DUDE! He has a MULLET!

Shelly: Well, I forgot about that. He didn't have a mullet by the time I met him.

Sister: Um, does it matter? Because clearly he had one not long before you met him. And it's not just a mullet Shell, it's like...a really really GOOD mullet. It's the kind of mullet that people devote websites too.

Indeed, it is. It's hysterical. If Doug and I were still friends, I would scan the pictures and post them for all to see. But, as we are not friends, that just seems like it would be mean and potentially troublesome. You'll just have to take my word for it. I once loved the dude with the king of all mullets.

***

The photo album had about ten thousand pictures of other friends (and not really friends) that I had completely forgotten about over the years. I flipped through it muttering "What the Hell? What's this guy doing in here?" People I never spoke to in 4 years of high school except to ask them for their senior picture (apparently) and people I used to work with that I hadn't thought about for years. There were pictures of the first guy I thought I was going to marry which made me feel as though I had been punched lightly in the gut and pinched a bit in the heart and there were pictures of Tiffany - a girl who came into my life like wildfire, dated my stepbrother and brought me my first brush with an angel. Tiffany died 3 or 4 years ago now of Cystic Fibrosis, and it was surreal almost to look at her picture yesterday and remember what my life had been before everything shifted. The one tiny little photo album blasted me down memory lane, and I wound up spending most of the evening there yesterday. Part of me hasn't come back yet, and part of me isn't exactly sure that it wants to.

***

Listening To:

Reading: A Density of Souls by Christopher Rice. I'm gripped by this book. I don't want to put it down. I dragged it with me everywhere I went since I started it on Saturday night. It's dark in the way of "Varsity Blues" or "Heathers" and I'm horribly sucked into it.

Finished: "Living to Tell" by Antonya Nelson. It was good, but it never gripped me the way this new book has. The last few books I've read have been more about not being able to wait to finish than afraid to finish because it's too good to end.

Recently Saw: The season finale of Carnivale last night. I was expecting more. I dunno - it just seemed like another episode to me. And I'm pissed that I have to wait til God knows when to find out if Sophie & Jonesy are really dead!

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland