The Better Part of Me...

Warm & Fuzzy Time of Year
2003-11-28 @ 12:15 p.m.

Thanksgiving made me a lot more nostalgic when I lived in North Carolina. Each year I would draft an essay expressing my thanksfulness and love for everyone I care for and everything I'm blessed with. I deliberately didn't write one this year because I feel too uneasy about it. Things are far too precarious in far too many places for me to be comfortable making my thankfulness known to the world. I realize I am blessed. I am VERY thankful for what I have been given and the people I wrap around me like warm blankets on scary cold nights. I'm thankful for so very many things right now, but for the sake of my ever skittish heart, right now I'm just going to keep them between me and God.

That said, yesterday was fun. The family tradition is to rent the town hall in the itty bitty town up the street from where my parents live. Families converge upon it bearing all sort of trimmings and treats and we drink, chat, and eat our way to a collective food coma. The food was good. The conversation was good. The food coma was...bloaty and weird.

Before the Thanksgiving festivities, however, was a trip to my mom's house to decorate the Christmas tree. The tradition there is that mom sets it up and hangs the lights, my sister and I hang the decorations (many of which were made by us when we were in kindergarten or so). My sister and I fought over whose crappy ornament should receive the best front row appearance - her Christmas ball in a glittered ice cream cone, or my little piece of paper with the tiny noodle shells and the gold spray paint. Eventually we reached a compromise and set about hanging the rest of the ornaments in peace.

After the bloaty food coma had subsided a bit, I was able to meet up with Bear (in town for a limited time only) to go see "Elf". Our review: The movie is fantastic. Handicapped people are fucked.

Apparently Thanksgiving night is a really popular movie night or something? Who knew? In any case, the theater was pretty full so we wound up sitting in the handicapped seats at the bottom of the stadium seating, but before the old school theater seating begins. We didn't think we were that close to the screen. We now know better. We spent the movies with our heads thrown back, faces contorted in all matter of things constipated while we tried to get our eyes to focus on the screen. On top of everything, it now appears that we suffer from "old lady" eyes. Not a brain tumor Bear. NOT. a brain tumor.

The movie itself was really quite funny. I thoroughly enjoyed it, and it's a great holiday catch. Plus - Will Ferrell. The end.

***

This month between Thanksgiving and Christmas is officially my favorite time of year. I am a Christmas machine.

***

Listening To: Warm & Fuzzy Time of Year by Billy Gilman. THANK YOU PAM FOR THAT. Oh man. It just sort of...echoes about my head. Tiny little elfin voice. Y'just wanna...squish 'im.

Reading: Living to Tell by Antonya Nelson. The book is good. It's depressing. And weird. And not entirely tied together. But I'm enjoying it and it's almost done.

Recently Saw: See above.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland