The Better Part of Me...

Jumpin' Jesus! Holy Cow!
2003-11-24 @ 10:55 a.m.

Remember Friday when I said that "This is the kind of party everyone talks about for weeks to come. This is the place where legends are made."? (what just happened with the punctuation there? I don't know. Shut up.) Turns out, that I'm the legend this year. I'm also the thing that everyone will be talking about for weeks to come. In the case of my family, it's probably something they'll be talking about for the rest of my life. No matter what I do from here on out, there will always be a "Hey - remember that time you got drunk at your mom's holiday party?"

Oh dear.

I would love to go into specific stories of what I did on Friday night and how I embarressed myself, but the truth is that I don't remember a lot of it. I mean, nothing's blacked out, but everything is kind of fuzzy and pink (like the wine).

Suffice to say that there are no family gatherings that don't involve a tequila joke (why? I have no idea. I was drinking wine.) or a reference to me being at the bar before I showed up. Awesome.

On the other hand, I may have finally lived down the time I innocently asked my grandma if she "wanted my nuts" - referring, of course, to the chex mix I was eating at the time (as I do not actually have nuts of my own, thankyouverymuch). Drunk Shelly is like the ace card. I just trumped everything else I've ever done. My mom is...seriously...so proud right now.

***

Other weekend activity included Mexican dinner for 15 with my family on Saturday night (tequila jokes abounded). Chicken & steak dinner at my grandparents house on Sunday (tequila bottle sat next to my plate before I noticed it, sighed, and put it away).

It was Sarah's birthday yesterday, so I went out to the Wal Mart (I effing hate that store) to buy her a betta fish. She has had no luck with them thus far and has sworn them off, but I think it's important for her to work on her nurturing skills and therefore more fish are necessary. Unfortunately the Wal Mart (I effing hate that store) only had the ugliest, most chewed up looking fish available. These fish were dull in color and invariably had chunks hanging off their sides. Perfect. I found a little red one with a chewed up looking top fin and a clumpy looking bottom fin and I decided that the rough little guy was destined to be Sarah's new roommate.

I gave "Bradley" (I named him because I knew she wouldn't) to Sarah last night. I can't tell if she was pleased or completely distraught over the appearance of her fish. I'm not too worried though, Bradley is clearly a fighter. He may not be pretty, but he's mean. Maybe that's what it's all about when choosing betta fish.

In celebration of Sarah's big 2-6 we headed out to watch some junior hockey. Hockey isn't really my thing. I'm a football fan. I can get into a sport where they beat the crap out of each other spontaneously and often for apparently no reason at all, and I definitely like that there's a penalty called "slashing" - but it otherwise seems too complicated for me. Football is about the extent of my sports knowledge capabilities and even then I don't always understand all the plays or all the penalties. In any case, the game wasn't as bad as I was afraid it was going to be and I discovered that I can still be attracted to 18 year old boys - as I sat drooling all dirty old woman style at the hockey reserve team that sat in front of us. But then they started talking and totally ruined it for me. Ah well.

***

I spent the first 3 hours of my day yesterday trying to set up my Christmas tree (MISSION: Failed), and talking on the phone. I called Sarah cuz it was her Bday, then Miss M. because she'd been in Rhode Island all week and I wanted to see how she's faring, and then my dad to find out more on my trip to Germany coming up sometime in the future.

Turns out my trip to Germany is more "FACT" than "FICTION." It seems that all I have to do is find the time off of work and he will take care of the rest.

It SEEMS - that I'm going back to Europe. EUROPE! I love Europe. Jumpin' Jesus! Holy Cow!

I just gotta find someone to come with me now. That's more difficult than you might think. Time to begin strategizing...

***

Listening To: "Be Mine" by David Gray.

Reading: Living to Tell by Antonya Nelson. This book is depressing y'all.

Recently Saw: Vikings. *shew* Man I am NOT happy about the way the first three and a half quarters of that game went yesterday. I was pissed as Hell actually, and it was painful to watch. But halfway through the 4th quarter my boys hit their stride and caught TWO interceptions to make TWO touchdowns within...what was that...5 minutes? It was awesome. Awesome I tell you! And...we're back. At least for this week.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland