The Better Part of Me...

Black Hole Saturday
2003-10-27 @ 11:04 a.m.

Phone message left Friday night:

Have you found Jesus? If you find that you are looking for Jesus and have not been able to see the light, please call (919) 932-****. Jesus is standing by.

Saturday morning:

ring ring

Miguel: Hello?

Me: Miguel?

Miguel: Hey, what�s going on?

Me: Um, is Jesus there?

Miguel: (laughing) Oh man, I�m sorry about that message. It was a rough night last night.

Me: Yeah, I gathered that. (pause) But, so wait, Jesus isn�t there? RIP!

Miguel: No, I�m sorry. He was apparently here last night though.

***<

Saturday evening:

Miguel: So, should I go to this party at my co-workers house tonight, or not?

Me: Dude. It�s 5:30 on Saturday night and I�m sitting here in my pajama�s (out of which I have not changed since bedtime last night). I have just ordered a pizza to ensure that I expend as little energy as possible in keeping myself nourished (and I do use that term lightly). I�m thinking that I might not be the best person to ask about being social this weekend as I am A) apparently 70 years old and B) fairly anti-social by nature.

Miguel: Awesome. So I�m not going then.

***

That, folks, pretty much sums up my weekend. I seem to have fallen into a bit of a black hole.

I think there is a part of me that suffers from Seasonal Depression. The little light that stays on inside of me for most of the summer just seems to dim a bit as the days get shorter, the weather gets colder, and my instincts to hibernate get stronger.

I figured out where a large portion of my social tendencies come from a couple of weeks ago at my cousin's wedding. I made a comment to my mom about how my stepdad seemed to just fly about the room, making his rounds, talking to people and in general being a very social creature. My mom nodded and pointed out that she's not like that. She prefers to get to a social event, find a chair, and let others come to her.

I am the exact same way.

I am good, socially. I can have a conversation with just about anybody with just about anything, but I generally will not seek it out. I'm usually pretty content to just find a corner to plop myself in, chat with whoever walks by, and just people watch all evening long.

It's always so startling to me when the personality traits I have inherited from my parents are laid bare like that.

In any case, it's not all bad. I'm just feeling whingy and a little blue. There's a lot to be optimistic about and even more to hope for. Plus - snowmobiling.

***

Listening To: Only One by James Taylor. I just love love love this song.

Reading: Farm Fatale by Wendy Holden. So far...meh.

Recently Saw: Oh boy, this could take a while.

"I Love the 80's (Strikes Back)" from 1982-1989. Seriously. Yes, yes I really did sit in front of my TV that long. You would have too if you'd have been in my shoes this weekend. I miss hypercolor Tshirts. I heart My Little Pony. I especially heart Michael Ian Black. The best.

"Daddy Daycare" - this movie was so much better than I expected. It was so cute! I loved the kid who would scream and scream until he got money. I want that kid. The cutest. But be warned - it's fluffy. No life changing shenanigans here.

"Charlie's Angels #2" - I liked this about the same as I liked the first one. It's worth watching, it's got some good ass kicking scenes. I giggled a couple of times. But I'm not...crazy about it or anything.

"Carnivale" on HBO last night. There is something very deranged in me that thoroughly enjoys every wack-o thing about this show. It's the kind of show that fans of "Twin Falls Idaho" or "Niagra Niagra" would enjoy. People with a penchant for the independent, slightly unnerving, just...weird entertainment should be watching this.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland