The Better Part of Me...

Reality Handles
2003-10-23 @ 10:05 a.m.

Mary's in India by Dido

Danny is lonely/Mary's in India now/She said she'd call but that was three weeks ago/She left all her things well, her books and her letters from him/But as the sun rises on Mary, it sets on him.

And just dance, and just drink/And just see the things I'll probably never get the chance to see

Danny's not eating, he's drinking and sleeping/I saw him last night at party, he's definitely thin/He says he's happy, looks pretty good/But I think That as the sun rises on Mary, it sets on him.

And just dance, and just drink/And just see the things I probably never get the chance to say

Danny came over last night and I cooked for him/He talked about you Mary and how much we loved you still/He told me he's packed up your books and your letters and things/But as the sun sets on Mary, it's rising on him.

And we danced, and we drank/And I've seen something you probably never got the chance to see/Don't worry, Mary/Cause I'm taking care of Danny/And he's taking care of me.

***

Miguel: So what do you think it�s about? Do you think Danny is dying and Mary�s friend is taking care of him while Mary is gone?

Me: Uh. That�s not what I got from this song at all. I think that Danny is in love with Mary and Mary has taken off to India to � discover herself or something. So Danny�s left behind and he�s all depressed and then Dido comforts him.

Miguel: So Dido steals Mary�s boyfriend?

Me: No, not exactly. I don�t get a strong �Bitch stole my man� vibe from this song. I think that Dido picked Danny up, dusted him off and set him back on his feet again. Because of that, they formed this great relationship that isn�t necessarily a romance. They help each other. They heal each other.

Miguel: So � when she says �I�m taking care of Danny and Danny�s taking care of me?�

Me: I think that could be interpreted any number of ways, but not necessarily an �In your face ho, he�s my ma-an now.� The entire song doesn�t lead you to think that�s how it is � neither does the accompanying music. Perhaps Danny and Dido DO become a couple, but I don�t think it happens during this song.

Miguel: I see.

***10 minute silence where we concentrate on our intense game of Solitaire showdown***

Miguel: Mary is mean.

Me: LOL. Don�t hate Mary. She just needs to spread her wings.

Miguel: But she shouldn�t leave Danny behind. He loves her.

Me: I think that sometimes in relationships you have to choose between yourself and the person you�re with. I think sometimes you need to choose yourself.

Miguel: But still. I mean. They were living together and everything. Danny had to pack up Mary�s books and letters and things.

Me: Yeah. But we don�t even know that it was a happy relationship to begin with.

Miguel: That�s true. But Danny really loved her.

Me: I know. But just because he loved her doesn�t mean he was good for her. Don�t hate Mary. She did what she had to do.

***

Time to get a tighter hold on reality, no?

***

Listening To: Mary's in India by Dido - obviously.

By the way - it's a very pretty song.

Reading: Djb's Skin recap. It's like falling in love all over again.

Recently Saw: The Bachelor last night. I was hoping that Lee Ann would make it one more round just to keep the drama going, but alas...

I was unbelievably disappointed that there were no hysterical fits at the end. I had her pegged to be the most overly dramatic of all of them upon exit - it was pretty anticlimactic when she finally went.

My prediction is that it's going to come down to Meredith and Kelly Jo.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland