The Better Part of Me...

Couch Potato Revived
2003-09-22 @ 2:41 p.m.

You may (or may not) have noticed that I spent an abnormal amount of time with my TV turned off this summer. I managed to avoid the soft, whispery call of "For Love or Money" and "Paradise Hotel." I turned my nose up to all summer reruns and have only recently stuck my little neck out of my shell to check out Fox's new show called "The OC" (or, as I like to call it, "The Best New Show This Season and Maybe Ever I Love You Adam Brody Call Me! IEEEEEEEEE!" because you can't watch the show without the IEEEEE. I'm sorry, it has to be that way. It just does.

In any case, it's officially (according to the television industry) fall now, which makes it time for me to dig out my most comfy (and therefore, inevitably, most stained) sweats and fleece blankets and prime the couch for hours upon hours of potatoism. A hot beverage may, or may not be involved. This scenario falls fairly close to my version of heaven, I'll have you know. Is that weird?

Tonight? Let the festivities begin! Bring on the 7th Heaven (and gah! I know the show is the worst ever, but I can't stop watching it. I think The WB has planted a chip in my brain. I'm only half kidding.) and the Carnivale - and I'll bring the popcorn.

Good times, y'all. Good effin' times.

***

Listening To:

Reading: I finally finished "The Fourth Hand!" I wound up really liking it. It's a bit bizarre, the storyline is a bit far fetched, but the characters are ultimately endearing and even loveable and the ending is much more lighthearted than I expected it to be.

Now reading: Cause Celeb by Helen Fielding (of Bridget Jones fame). The book hasn't captured my heart yet, but I'm only on like page 20 or something, so I'm giving it time.

Recently Saw: Igby Goes Down. Kieran Culkin is a great actor. Who knew? I loved this movie more than I thought I would. It's cynical and touching at the same time. I thought it was fantastically acted and wonderfully executed. I was pleasantly surprised.

The Emmy's last night. I didn't mean to watch them. I don't know what it is about my brain that it just locks on to something and 3 hours later I'm still sitting there staring blankly at the same screen. The comedy routines - and I am using the word "comedy" lightly here - were pretty sucktastic. Except for Jon Stewart (who I love) and Ellen Degeneres (who, if I were a lesbian, I would have the hugest crush on, ever. Wait, scratch that. As a straight woman? I have the hugest crush ever on Ellen Degeneres.). Bill Cosby - and the sunglasses? Is he blind now? Was he summoning Stevie Wonder? What was that about? Finally, I heart William H. Macy. I don't know why, I just do.

FINALLY - My Vikings won again yesterday. YAHOOO!!! We made a 7 year old girl wait to blow out the candles on her birthday cake until the game was over. I think it's fairly safe to say that my family has their priorities well in order.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland