The Better Part of Me...

Ahoy, me hearties!
2003-09-19 @ 10:23 a.m.

In honor of Talk Like a Pirate Day, I insist that you all call me "Dirty Ethel Rackham" for the rest of the day.

Dirty Ethel Rackham

You're the pirate everyone else wants to throw in the ocean -- not to get rid of you, you understand; just to get rid of the smell. You have the good fortune of having a good name, since Rackham (pronounced RACKem, not rack-ham) is one of the coolest sounding surnames for a pirate. Arr!

(if you'd like your own pirate name...go here, and if you'd just like to get more into the spirit of the day, go here.)

***

I had forgotten how enjoyable an evening splitting a bottle of wine with a good friend could be.

Wine has never been my beverage of choice. I won't drink it unless whoever I'm with is drinking it. Left to my own devices, I'll almost always choose beer. However, there was a time when I lived with people who drank only wine and we spent many an evening splitting a bottle (or two) and enjoying the world as it got warmer and fuzzier.

The night I moved in with these people we enjoyed a bottle apiece. The evening ended with the only male attempting to make a mad dash from his bedroom to the bathroom in nothing but his underoos (we assume he was dashing so as not to be seen) and forgetting to stop when he reached the bathroom, thus crashing into the tub, tearing down the shower curtain, and getting stuck, limbs sticking out all nilly willy from the tub, his head and torso covered by the fallen shower curtain. The boy roommate, by the way, was 6'7" tall. It was indeed a sight to behold.

Last night I found myself sitting at a quiet bar with my second oldest friend in the world, splitting a bottle of sweet red wine and sorting through our past, present and future while the world got soft around us.

I have a feeling that in years to come, I will miss, more and more, the times when we giggled our ways through the wee small hours of the morning, and let each glass of wine melt the frigid glare of our everyday lives.

***

Listening To: This Time by Graham Colton

Still Reading: The Fourth Hand by John Irving. Yeah yeah. I'm slow.

Recently Saw:

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland