The Better Part of Me...

Come and Get Your Love
2003-07-14 @ 10:43 a.m.

The weekend was fan-fuckin-tastic. You should know, I only use words like that when I mean them. I would like to say that all weekends should be like this but there's a lot to be said for weekends spent curled up on my couch reading, watching movies, and being generally unsocial so I guess I don't really think that all weekends should be like this one was. But at least every 3rd one should be.

The Basilica Block Party was exactly what I needed. The concerts were held outdoors on some blocked off streets in downtown Minneapolis. The main (or...bigger) stage was set up so that it framed the Minneapolis Skyline and as the sun went down and the city lights came on, the effect was unreal. It looked like a fake background, it was breathtaking. Train put on a good show, and I got go see GB Leighton again as I have become obsessive groupie. This will have to become a tradition for me as I believe I will need an infusion of this outdoor sensory explosion at least once a year.

*************************************

My sister rescued a stray dog on Saturday evening. The dog (a husky mix) had been roaming around her friend's neighborhood for the past couple of days. She (the dog, not the friend or my sister) was badly dehydrated and couldn't keep anything down (water/food). She was also incredibly sweet and timid (she may be the only dog I've ever encountered who was more afraid of Oliver than Oliver was of her). Unfortunately, she barked through the wee small hours of the morning and my sister (who was given full responsibility for the dog as she was the one who presented me with her at 1 a.m. on Sunday morning) couldn't bear the thought of losing another night's sleep. Thusly - we had to bring her to the animal shelter yesterday morning. It was incredibly sad.

People - if you don't want/can't have your dog anymore, handle it responsibly. Don't leave it to starve to death or get run over by a car. Don't beat it senseless hoping it will go away. Seriously. There's a special place in Hell for people like that.

That is all.

**************************************

Listening To: Come and Get Your Love by GB Leighton (who else?!)

Reading: I finished Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants on Saturday. It was cute. There were parts in it that I strongly identified with and it was a little unnerving. I'm a hybrid mix of Carmen & Tibby methinks.

On to "See Jane Date" by...(I'll have to look this up and get back to you).

Recently Saw: About 50 people (mostly old people) show up for my grandpa's 75th birthday party yesterday. I whispered to my sister as we were refilling one of the salad bowls that I hoped this many people would turn out for my 75th birthday because there would probably only be about 6 people at my 27th birthday party(if I chose to have one). It was a pretty touching thing though - seeing all these people make a point to share their Sunday afternoon with my Gramps.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland