The Better Part of Me...

Skin & Baby Chickens
2003-07-09 @ 2:29 p.m.

My skin is in the process of falling off my body. I assure you that the reality of this isn't nearly as sexy as it sounds. I'm not sure what happened - I didn't get burned that badly last weekend. I suppose that much in the same way that my skin revolted against the sunscreen I tried to use to protect it, it's now revolting against the body that allowed it to be abused. I really just wish that my skin could decide what the Hell it wants because really, this is a bit ridiculous.

In other news, I have been forced to take part in a work/time study. This means that I basically document everything I do throughout the work day by scanning in and out of activities using the personal scanner that "they" (as in, "the man") have provided for me. The personal scanner is fairly useless and only works approximately 34% of the time that it is used. This means that any time an activity must be scanned in or out, it takes approximately 7 swipes of the scanner to do so successfully. With every swipe (whether successful or not) the scanner emits a little squawk that sounds like a baby chicken. This means that I sit, all day long, in a corridor with the sounds of baby chickens wafting down the hall from other unfortunates who have been bullied into this study. Baby chickens. Without the cute fuzzy...actual...chicken. Just the teeny squawk. Some day's it's hard not to love my job.

**************************************

Listening To:

Still Reading: Harry Potter #5 - I expect to have it finished by tonight, tomorrow night at the latest. I'm excited about this as it will allow me to actually have conversations with people about it without giving them the hairy eyeball every time they say too much.

Recently Saw: 28 Days Later... last night. I admit, when I first heard of it I tried to figure out why someone felt it necessary to give us an update on Sandra Bullock and her cohorts in rehab from the first 28 Days. Luckily, I knew what it was really about before going in there. It was fantastic! Granted, you've got to like that sort of thing. It's an indie film and also low budget. It's in turns artsy and campy. It's scary but more intelligent than it wants you to think it is. It reminded me of the classic literature like "The Lottery" by Shirley Jackson or (and most especially) "The Most Dangerous Game" by Roger Connelly. It's science fictiony without being over the top. I just thoroughly enjoyed it.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland