The Better Part of Me...

Hater
2003-07-08 @ 1:24 p.m.

Taking my inspiration from this, one of my favorite entries by Weetabix, today? I am a hater.

I know y'all were sitting there thinking I was going soft in my old(er) age and that everything was turning into sunshine and rainbows for me, but allow me to reassure you that this is not the case at all. I still hate many many things.

For instance, I hate people who pass on the right and people who are quick to lean on the horn or extend the middle finger. I hate people who try to make two lanes out of one. I hate people who drive down the road with their blinker on - though I'm more forgiving of those people than most of the other people I hate because I know it's quite likely that it's just a matter of time before I do that myself. Plus - I'm not a perfect driver, I'm just smarter than the jackasses who think it's okay to speed up to within inches of my rear bumper and then not pass me, ever.

I hate guys who wear wife beaters to bars. I hate long hair on guys and I hate guys who refer to their significant other as "my old lady." I hate guys who try too hard and I hate guys who don't try hard enough. I know this makes me sound incredibly picky but you'd be surprised at the amount of middle ground there is between "too hard" and "not hard enough."

I hate that that just sounded rather dirty.

I hate black sneakers (with the exception of my black converse one stars), I hate people with nipple piercings, I hate weasly 14 year old boys with shadow staches and one side of their head shaved. I hate mustaches. I hate people who cannot read body language at all.

I hate solid colored Christmas lights unless they're white. I hate fake flowers unless they look rare, but most of them do not look rare. I hate crunchy bugs and centipedes. I hate weeds most of all. I hate people who don't return smiles with smiles. I hate parents who hurt their children - on purpose and in ways that do not fall into normal parental disciplinary standards. I hate people who want to have babies so that they won't be lonely. I hate people who refuse to accept responsibility for their actions. Or their lives.

I hate people who don't like dogs. I hate people who abuse animals. I hate people who buy an animal because they think it's cute, and then turn it into the pound after a few weeks because they didn't realize that they'd have to care for it.

I hate black jelly beans. I hate tomatoes. I hate raw onions and beets. I hate people who won't try new foods and people who won't admit that they actually like a food because they are so determined that they don't.

I hate time. I have issues with time. I hate that it seems to move so fast and I hate that I always feel like I'm running out of it. I hate that sometimes I'll panic in the middle of the day because I don't feel like I'll have enough time to get everything I'd planned to do done. I hate how strung out time can make me and I hate that I'm so dependent on it.

So - there's the short list. For today. I'm off to find some toothpicks with which to keep my eyes open...

*************************************

Listening To: Piece of Soul by...Katie Reider (I think).

Still Reading: Harry Potter #5 - it's keeping me up at night AND it's giving me goofy dreams I think. But oh! It's so good.

Recently Saw: Old School last night. The movie started out very strong - Will Ferrell cracks my shit up and his slapsticky acting was hysterical in the beginning of this movie. It goes wrong somewhere in the late middle I think - it starts to get long and it's not as funny as it started out. It was entertaining though, and came with a few good laughs early on, so I'd still probably watch it again.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland