The Better Part of Me...

Lesbian
2003-07-07 @ 2:17 p.m.

Fourth of July was fabulous. It is always fabulous where there is beach time, fire time, boat time and general lazing about the campground time. I didn't forget to wear sunscreen and, as usual, that doesn't mean I didn't walk away without a sunburn. My skin take sunscreen as a direct challenge. "Oh, you think you can cover me with your crazy super UV ray deflecting powers and somewhat chemical-ish smell? Fuck that. I'll show you fucking wise-ass sunscreen." Then it proceeds to either soak the sunscreen in past the point where it would be at all effective, or sneakily sluffs it off. In any case - the sunscreen never works and it doesn't matter if I'm wearing SPF 4 or SPF 400. So don't yell at me. God.

Anyhow so Friday afternoon we'd all come back to the campground after a few hours of swimming and sunning and drinking on the sandbar. I perched myself in a lawn chair just outside my parents motorhome and was soon joined by my sister and, shortly after that, my mother.

MOM: (apropos of nothing) Shell, are you a lesbian?

ME: *shocked* What? Why? Do I look like a lesbian?

MOM: No. I was just reading an article on PCOS and it said that a good percentage of women who suffer from it are lesbians.

ME: Mom, if I liked girls, you'd know by now. I like boys.

MOM: Well, you know. It'd be okay with me...if you were.

ME: Um. Thanks Mom. But I'm really not. I like boys. My life would probably be a lot easier if I didn't, but unfortunately I was cursed with heterosexuality.

MOM: Okay. Well, I was just checking.

Today? She's trying to set me up with one of her co-workers sons. Apparently once my sexual preference was established, I became marketable material.

I figured this was coming. Forward ho! with the pursuit to marry me off.

***************************************

Listening To: Black & Blue by the Counting Crows.

Still Reading: Harry Potter #5. I'm a little more than halfway through it now. I have a hard time putting the book down once I've picked it up. I'm so excited to unveil the secrets. I wish all reading excited me this way.

Recently Saw: GB Leighton perform at Rochester's Down by the Riverside last night. The usually outdoor concert was moved indoors cuz it was supposed to rain last night (it didn't) so I was a little bummed about that, but I was really impressed with the show these guys put on. Plans are being made to see them again, possibly this weekend at the Basilica Block Party in Minneapolis. I've never heard about this before, but it totally seems right up my alley. I am pumped.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland