The Better Part of Me...

Schmoopy
2003-07-02 @ 3:35 p.m.

I've relaxed.

I didn't even really know that I needed to, but it became unmistakeably evident over the past few days when I was able to have company in my home for more than 4 hours at a time and not go completely insane with it.

It all came to my attention as we were driving in the car the other day after having lazily grazed our way through lunch. Miss M informed me that I'm a lot less high strung than I was when I was living in North Carolina and I had to agree that my gracious hostessing skills seemed remarkably honed while she was here and we didn't fight or even argue. Not once. The entire time she was here. She didn't even get on my nerves! And that's sayin' something cuz pretty much everyone gets on my nerves at least once a day.

It was a nice visit - from listening to my uncle talk about his neighbor whose wife recently ran off with a Jehovah's Witness (HA! I mean...sad! But still...what are the chances?!) to cockblocking the sketchy greasy guy of unknown descent who stood up to join our conversation no less than four times during the course of the evening the other night. There was remarkably less beer consumed than I thought there would be and surprisingly more time spent sleeping. And shopping. Oh Good God. So. Much. Shopping.

Life goes back to normal today and I feel a little achey inside. I'm having those flash visions of random North Carolina intersections and the various nooks and crannies of the state that I worked so hard to learn. Last night I flopped belly first on my bed and came face to face with the pottery I made during the last months I spent down there and there was the familiar realization that while I most definitely am happier and more settled here, there was a lot of good that I left behind.

In any case, I will no doubt shake the schmoopiness off by tomorrow evening as the Great 4th of July Camping Trip is almost upon us. And I with no liquor! This evening will be spent trying to remedy the situation as I most certainly do not intend to pass a major holiday without a drink in hand.

***************************************

Listening To:

Reading: I started Harry Potter #5 last night. I'm only on like page 100 - but I'm so pumped about it I'm practically bursting. It's sucking too cuz my sister has already finished it, so I know she knows how it happens and who dies and I know she said it was very sad so I'm kicking around all these possibilities and every time I think I've got it figured out a new possibility presents itself to me. None of them make me very happy but then, I wasn't happy when the killing began in #4 either, and that wasn't even a very main character! It's interesting to me how these books are getting consistently darker. The first book was almost all fun and games and now this book is rather creepy and scary from the get-go.

Oh my God. I'm the hugest nerd.

Recently Saw: We ventured out to see "Down with Love" at the cheap theater the other night. I thought it was good - cute even. I could have done with all the switcharoo's at the end, but the movie was done quaintly like an authentic 1960's movie, and Ewan McGregor is the cutest. And he sings at the end. *swoon*

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland