The Better Part of Me...

Wedding Letters
2003-05-20 @ 1:56 p.m.

Awww yeah. The thing I wound up writing for my friend BV's wedding? I finally sent it to her today and she loved it. Well, she loved the first part of it that she read before she started crying and decided to wait until she got home from work to give it her full attention.

I still got it.

Even when I have no idea what I'm talking about.

In case you're curious - this is what I wrote her:

I have been wracking my brain for the better part of three months, trying to come up with something appropriate and meaningful to say to you (and for you) during this momentous occasion. Whatever I wind up saying � I want it to mean something to you, and I want it to stick with you. The problem is that I don�t know a whole lot about love, except that it tends to look silly when dressed up in fancy little words, and that it can look pretty pitiful when forced into neat little boxes. This makes love a difficult subject to write about, as it�s beauty lies not in what can be said about it, but in what it is. Unfortunately, I know even less about marriage than I do about love, thus the struggle to find something to say at all, much less something meaningful and lasting.

It finally occurred to me that you already know. Perhaps the problem is that I�ve been hoping to teach you something, or leave you with something profound that you hadn�t recognized or thought of before. The idea is preposterous as just one look at the two of you and it�s painfully obvious that you already know. You know yourselves and you know each other. You know that it�s important to love with open arms, allowing each other to grow and learning how to grow together. You know that marriage doesn�t equal �happily ever after� and that the road will sometimes be almost more than you can bear. Almost.

You know that there will be fights about silly things and not so silly things. You know that sometimes you will win the fight and sometimes you will lose the fight but in the end it�s not about the winning, it�s about being fair, respecting each other and working through your differences and understanding each other, even if you don�t agree.

You know that there will be thousands of changes over the years, some of them big and some of them small, some of them good and some of them not. You know that the best part is that you will weather the changes with your very best friend, leaning on each other in joy and sorrow. You also know that sometimes it�s your best friend who will be changing, and it will be scary for both of you but you will adjust.

You know how important it is to talk to each other, but even more importantly, to listen to each other. You know that, even though from this day forward you will go through life as a couple, you�re still individual people with individual interests, individual needs and individual wants. You know that you will need to foster that in each other understanding that what makes you different is just as important as what makes you the same, and it�s the delicate balance of the two that holds you together.

You know, most especially, that where you come from has determined who you are, but does not determine where you are headed. You believe in this union, in your future together. You believe in each other, and in what you can do together. Let this belief sustain you through all your journeys through all of time. It doesn�t matter what other people say, it matters what you believe. You know that. You�ve always known that.

God Bless you.

Love,

S

Admittedly, it's not even nearly my best work, but what do you expect? I spend the majority of my time railing against humanity - to expect me to go ushy gushy when there is nobody around who is making me feel that way is almost preposterous.

Really, it was either that or a "Roses are Red, Violets are Blue" poem.

I know, a "Roses are Red, Violets are Blue" poem would have been rad.

**************************************

Listening To: Airplane by the Indigo Girls

Still Reading: Family Album by Sue Miller.

Recently Saw: The vile and contemptuous Hayley randomly select the mild mannered and not particularly gregarious millionaire out of all the masked men as the one she agrees to marry. She then gave him an painfully rehearsed and totally insincere speech about falling in love with him and blahety blah and when he finally unmasked, she refused to even look at him.

Fucking scaredy cat. I thought the looks weren't IMPORTANT, bitch? It shouldn't matter if he's hideously scarred and missing most of his teeth - cuz you already love him, right?

Right?

Pshaw. Whatever. That shit's just insulting.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland