The Better Part of Me...

Weddings and Lost Balls
2003-05-19 @ 11:36 a.m.

The wedding I went to this weekend was strange. They seemed to be trying to go for an unconventional approach, but the preacher just rambled rather aimlessly and seemed to forget where he was going, the "reverse receiving line" thing they tried to pull off by having the bride and groom usher people out of the aisles themselves, rather than waiting at the back of the church for the guests to come to them - was perhaps a good idea in theory, but it was an incredibly crappy one in practice. Not only did it put people on the spot (and it was indeed quite uncomfortable for people like my sister's boyfriend who had never met the bride and groom before), but it was an incredible waste of time. The DJ played only slow songs and the only people allowed on the dance floor for the first 6 songs were the wedding party. The reception dinner? Spaghetti. No kidding. Who does that? Not that spaghetti is an unacceptable catered meal, but who wants spaghetti sauce all over her wedding dress?

I've been to enough of these things now that I feel comfortable with the idea of my own wedding - should such an event ever occur. I know, for instance, that none of the above will take place at my wedding. It'll be a traditional Catholic marriage ceremony, absolutely NO receiving line (I don't care what proper etiquette says, there isn't a person in the world who likes receiving lines and I don't care to do anything just because it's expected of me.), and the dinner will be catered by my family and will include sammiches, salads, and the like.

I'm an incredibly low maintenance person and my wedding, I think, is going to reflect that. I don't want glitz, glamour, and a $30,000 total bill. I plan to put my family to work and keep things fairly casual and low key. I just have more fun when things are that way.

Anyway, enough about me and my imaginary wedding.

I lost Oliver's ball this morning. I feel awful. I know it's silly, but the ball is his favorite toy and this ball in particular is his most favorite. I don't even know what happened! I was just throwing it for him like normal and then it just shot up off the ground and over the neighbors fence. I was in shock! My poor puppy had no idea what was going on, he sniffed the grass for about 5 minutes before running up to me like I had tricked him and was still holding the ball. When I bent down to try to pet him and explain to him that sometimes balls just...go away...he immediately ran back to sniff out that section of the yard again.

I felt awful.

He didn't come into the house for another half hour. I don't know what I'm going to do tonight as it looks like it's going to rain and I have no favorite ball to keep my dog occupied!

Cripes.

Fucking Hell.

**************************************

Listening To: Nothing at the moment, but I most certainly did buy the New Kids on the Block Greatest Hits CD.

Some people get married and have kids. I collect kitschy 80's pop icon shit.

Reading: Same book - it's still good. I'm not sure why I'm not tearing through it faster.

Recently Saw: Andrew pick Jen over the vile Kirsten on the Bachelor last night. What a "meh" season. The girls sucked. Andrew was blah. Nobody cared.

They better give Bob cooler chicks, that's all I have to say. If he's not going to marry me he sure as HELL better marry someone who I think rocks.

It's all about me. It is.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland