The Better Part of Me...

Feels Like Home....to Me
2003-04-25 @ 4:10 p.m.

It's Friday.

Ho hum.

This last hour is going to be the death of me. I have a date to go watch a hockey game (and by date, I mean I'm going out with the girls, of course) tonight and I'm dragging my sister along for moral support. My sister is surprisingly agreeable about it given that she A) doesn't do hockey and B) doesn't really do crowded social situations. Good times will ensue, I am sure.

I sure am getting comfortable with my life here. My friend Sarah called at 9:30 p.m. last night "just to check in." That's how I knew this was home to me now. Don't ask me what the significance is - it's not tangible. It's the casual comfort of just picking up the phone and saying "Hey - 'sup?" and not really having any purpose other than that.

Casual. Comfort. That is home.

**************************************

Listening To: The nice ladies at work informed me today that it is not, in fact, against the rules for me to be rocking out to some sweet jams at work. So now I have Spinner all set up and I'm listening to the WB Radio station. Currently - Sweet Jane by the Cowboy Junkies is wafting softly from my speakers.

Oh joyous day!

Still Reading: Turns out? Thursdays at Eight is highly addictive. Who knew?

Recently Saw: The BEST episode of Will & Grace last night. And the crappiest series finale on Sabrina The Teenage Witch. Also...The Dixie Chicks.

This is what I have to say about that...*sigh*

They're just dixie chicks, yo. Just...chicks. From Dixie. And they're just like every other celebrity in Hollywood who thinks that his/her opinion means more than the average Joe because they're famous. And they use their elevated platforms to preach their personal political gospel and brainwash thousands of people stupid enough to not know that these people are more than likely *less* educated than the average Joe on these issues because seriously? They live in a fantasy land. They don't experience the real world. So shut up famous people.

As for me - I'm glad that the Dixie Chicks got a response for what they (she) did. I'm glad they were blocked from radio stations and I'm glad people smashed their CD's (although, I didn't smash mine) - but I do, 100% believe that Natalie Maines was speaking off the cuff. I don't think she ever had ANY intention of creating the drama that she created and if she had it to do over? I think she would change it. She fucked up, the world responded - so now what? We keep beating her over the head with it? Or forgive and forget and move on. We've done it for people who've done a lot worse to/for this country.

As to freedom of speech? Indeed, she had the right to say what she said. The world, in kind, had the right to react the way it did. The freedom of speech works both ways. In essence, was Natalie Maines not lambasting the President and all of his supporters when she said what she said? And why did she say it? Because she disagreed.

One side isn't more right than the other side - and there's nothing I love more than kicking people off their pretentious moral little pedastals.

Phooey.

Happy Weekend!

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland