The Better Part of Me...

My Mother's Marbles
2003-03-07 @ 11:03 a.m.

It would have been nice if I had paid attention as I was getting ready this morning. Why? Well, chances are I wouldn't have chosen the most wrinkled pair of pants on the floor and the carolina blue "spring" shirt with the bleach stains on the front. Whoopsadaisy! Eh. At least I am quite comfy.

*************************************

An email from my mom:

Hey -

Well - we leave in about 6 hours!!! WOOHOO - It will be good to get out of

town. If we all get in a crash while we are on the road and we all die

- you will kind of be in charge of stuff. We don't have a will, but I think

it is set up that if I die, Jer gets everything and then if we both die, I

think my retirement plan goes to you and poops - I think. Anyway - if we were to both get killed - which we don't plan on but you never know - then

you are the one!

The e-mail goes on and on in explicit detail of what is to be done with the money and land, etc.

For the record - my parents are leaving on a 9 day road trip to Branson, MO. It's a 12 hour drive. Last summer they went traipsing all over Canada and didn't feel the need to send me such a disturbing note.

I hate being the oldest sometimes. Especially since I am not, technically, the oldest. My stepbrother is actually 2 months older than I am. However, because of certain choices we have made in life and given certain personality factors - I am still considered the oldest. What really bugs me about that in cases like this is - if something were to happen to my parents and I did get left in charge of all the money? It would be just a matter of time before we started showing up on shows like Texas Justice screaming our fool heads off at each other about the damn pinball machine in the basement. Lord help us.

***********************************

Listening To:

Still Reading: I was late to work this morning because I was trying really hard to finish Harry Potter. I didn't get it done though - but it should be finished by this weekend.

Recently Saw: Tadpole last night. It's a fairly charming movie if you don't mind the faintly incestual undertones (which, obviously, I do not mind at all. Eh.) It's a super short movie that wasn't quite entertaining enough to keep me from engaging in a game of Snood while watching, but was entertaining enough to keep me from missing the first half of last nights "That 70's Show" rerun. So...you be the judge.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland