The Better Part of Me...

This side of half a century
2003-02-17 @ 1:33 p.m.

Twenty six.

I keep asking people if I look older today and they keep answering "uh, no - but you look fatter today..." (NOTE: Nobody has actually said this to me yet, but I can totally tell this is what everyone is thinking.)

Well, that makes sense given that my diet this weekend consisted entirely of cheesecake and fried things. Also, beer. Frankly, I was surprised (and delighted) that my pants fit this morning. I figure it just hasn't caught up with me yet. My body is still working on the crap that I fed it Friday night - it hasn't even STARTED on Saturday yet, and I assure you it won't be happy when it does. I deserved it though, and I refuse to feel guilty.

My birthday always does weird things to me. I greet it every year with the same sort of anticipatory trepidation as it almost always leaves behind some kind of small hurt. I haven't learned how to avoid this yet.

As Birthday's go - this was a pretty good one. Nevermind that my dad didn't bother to call until 10 p.m. last night (he did call, at least) and two of my closest friends didn't bother calling at all (and, more likely than not, completely forgot it was even my birthday). Nevermind that my sister totally flaked on plans to spend the weekend with her boyfriend. Nevermind that my 75 year old grandpa drank me under the table on Saturday night and WASN'T EVEN DRUNK (which is just so so lame on my part). I will let myself feel sorry for myself about those things (well, except for the grandpa drinking me under the table thing because seriously? GO GRAMPS!) without letting them cloud the fact that my mom went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure I had a good birthday. My aunt and uncle and little cousins sang me a hysterical Partridge Family-esque rendition of Happy Birthday. My gramps - well he was just good company and I thoroughly enjoyed hearing his (far more educated then mine) views on current politics and the threat of war. My uncle made TWO amazing cheesecakes and then let me eat as much as I wanted. Bless him. So - you win some, you lose some I guess. I am not ungrateful - it's just, like I said, that I'm weird about my birthday. Glad it's over.

**************************************

Listening to: Noella Ray by Brenda Weiler. I'm really enjoying the discovery of all the folksy rocksy stuff I've stumbled across lately.

Still Reading: Harry Potter #4. I also read my uncle's stash of People Magazines this past weekend. Oh man - that's like candy for my eyes.

Recently Saw: The ending of High School Reunion last night. I was quite pleased with it. I think it's one of my favorite Reality TV shows now. I also finished watching XXX last night - and was pleased with that as well. Vin Diesel is my guilty pleasure boyfriend.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland