The Better Part of Me...

Imagine There's no Heaven...
2003-02-12 @ 4:32 p.m.

I don't understand a religion that advocates such hatred, but I know I want no part of it. However, I have to believe that somewhere underneath all the bitterness and the bloodshed and the chilling hatred that has had American's on edge for the better part of a year and a half now - there is something profoundly good and beautiful. I know very little of the muslim faith, but I know that most of what people don't understand of Catholicism are some of the most beautiful parts. Maybe not though. I don't know nearly enough about it to speak of it. I only know that I don't understand it and I don't want to.

I was watching the latest Osama tape at home late last night and I just shook my head and whispered "Good will conquer evil - no matter what it takes..." and then I started thinking about how God couldn't possibly be on Osama's team. Who believes in that God anyway? Who believes in a God that demands suicide bombers and crazy acts of martyrdom? Who believes in a God that calls for such serious oppression and violence? Who believes in a God who preaches hatred?

I am just so glad that I do not. What a miserable life that would be.

**************************************

Listening to:

Reading: Okay the Bachelorette recap from Television Without Pity had me laughing out loud last night. I was dying. Djb is my new gay boyfriend. Also - Harry Potter (he's not my boyfriend, I'm just reading the book) Goblet of Fire. Same old good times.

Recently Saw: Bear made sure I saw E-Love on Oxygen at 6:30 last night. Good times. Now we have to get ME on that show - but FIRST I must fall in love with an internet boy. Any takers? Seriously. I have a cute dog!

Also, American Idol. This week had much better singing than last week. Sadly, only 2 will go on as it's too late to kick off the two from last week.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland