The Better Part of Me...

Political Bullshite and other Nonsense
2003-01-21 @ 1:32 p.m.

Many thoughts and prayers go out to my friend Sarahs family. Her brother-in-law is a marine reserve who is supposed to ship out to California today and then...to parts unknown but probably in the middle east. Mike got the call Saturday and will ship out today, unless he can get an extension. He has 3 little girls and I cannot imagine what they are feeling right now. Sarah's family has been through a lot a lot a lot in the last few years and I'm praying that there's a blessing in this for them. That Mike returns home safely...and soon.

I got into a long & heated (raised voices even!) argument with Bear last night about the threat of war. She's mulishly & staunchly democrat & anti-war, I have such a hard time dealing with people who are so steadfastly set in their ways like that. I sometimes think that I am perhaps weak for not choosing a political affiliation (I refuse to) - but I cannot overlook the serious flaws that afflict both parties. I agree with some things democrat. I agree with some things republican. I passionately disagree with some things democrat and I passionately disagree with some things republican. The way I see it is that there is, and will ALWAYS be two sides to every story. To narrow your mind to encompass one (and ONLY one) set of beliefs is to make yourself ignorant to another set of beliefs. A set of beliefs that may be different from yours, but is not necessarily WRONG because of that.

I am *NOT* weak minded because of my beliefs. I feel passionately about (almost) all political issues, but I don't believe there's a single truth in dealing with ANY of them. There are no easy solutions. NOTHING is black and white (and believe me, the definitive lack of black and white in the world has been the sole source and sustenance of my entire quarter-life crisis). I, honestly, would rather be considered weak minded for not picking a side of the fence and sticking with it, than narrow minded for sticking so steadfastly to my side of the fence that I will not even allow room for the other side of the story in my arguments.

In the argument with Bear she was all "Fucking George Bush this and Goddamn motherfucking George Bush that" and it seems to me that George Bush didn't walk into this presidency with a completely peaceful middle eastern world and then suddenly flip them off while blowing raspberries at them and screaming about how "Yo momma so fat..." and now all the people in Iraq hate us because our president said that his dad could kick Saddam Husseins dads ass (well, maybe he did - but I assure you that that's not why they hate us). Maybe you don't agree with what he's done in his presidency and maybe you REALLY don't agree with what he's doing with it now - but dudely didn't make this mess. And seriously? God Bless him for even trying to deal with it. The entire time Clinton was president I think it would have been fun to be president? Now? You couldn't pay me enough money to deal with what dubya deals with and you certainly couldn't pay me enough to make the decisions he's being forced to make. You see? Two sides. You may not like what he decides to do, but do you think you could do it better?

Jesus. I really hate arguing about fucking politics - especially when my arguments are only half formed, as they are on this webpage - mostly because every time I have a thought and begin typing away like a banshee about it, my boss comes flying out here to give me something very important and very exciting to do and then after I make witty banter with her about nonsense things for 10 minutes, my train of thought? Pfft! Gone! So really? Just. Fucking politics man. It's just not worth arguing over. Especially when I can just as easily be arguing over whether or not Joe Millionaire is a sincere guy and/or whether or not he's even remotely attractive because he's kind of just...skeevy. Yech.

On a lighter note (uh--lighter than Joe Millionaire I guess) I just found out that my friend Julie, 7 years my senior, goes to the late movie every Monday night and stays out until 2 a.m. every Wednesday night and still gets up for work by 8 a.m. the next morning. How did I get old and she didn't? I'm seriously in bed by like 10 (at the latest!) on weeknights and now even weekends I'm getting all yawny by midnight. The hell? I think it's because I'm a mom now. That, folks, is the face I see every morning when I wake up. Life is sweet.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland