The Better Part of Me...

The one Where I Have No Friends
2003-01-27 @ 1:56 p.m.

About the Superbowl: My team wasn't playing, so I had nothing emotional invested in it. It was still fun to watch, and yay Bucs! Woo! Also? The Dixie Chicks whooped ass with their Star Spangled Banner. Wow man. That was gorgeous. I got all teary and whatnot.

I watched the Superbowl at my parents house with a bunch of their friends and my grandparents. It's not the first time I've had such a revelation, but every time I have this revelation it gets more and more depressing: My parents have cooler friends than I do. I'm not even kidding. My parents friends KICK ASS. They're funny, they're rowdy, they're wild n' crazy and they're just FUN! My friends? Not as fun. They never have been. I've always managed to find people who are not very well balanced. They take themselves too seriously, they're too afraid of what other people think, or they have serious hang ups about drinking...or sex...or God.

I'm amazed at my parents and their friends. I'm JEALOUS of my parents and their friends. They are capable of partying together and I mean REALLY partying together. And yet - they've also been through some serious shit. Divorce, a brain tumor, alcoholism, bankruptcy...like some really heavy stuff. And yet somehow, when they get together, they're still super fun.

I don't have friends like that. The closest I have to a friend like that is Bear. Bear and I will probably be friends until we're old and wrinkly & then we'll sit around drinking bloody Mary's (because I'll acquire a taste for them by then) and hitting on 20 year old men all Mrs. Robinson - style. We also live 4 hours apart (now) and don't see each other very often.

I don't have a group of friends who I can call up on a Wednesday and invite them to the river for the weekend and they'll actually SHOW UP. I don't have people who will just pitch tents and drink beer and maybe go for a boat ride or a swim (in river water - and not cry about how dirty it is) and drink more beer and laugh SUPER loud and moon the barges or race up the sand dune and then pass out.

Every time my sister or I ever have a "crisis" my mom's sage advice is that "life is too short." It's the credo she lives by. Life is too short to worry about stupid shit. Sit back and have a beer.

HOW COME I CAN'T FIND PEOPLE LIKE THAT?

Y'know what else I admire about my parents? After 13 years of marriage now, they still HAVE friends. My 20-something friends who are getting hitched have all but fallen off the face of the earth. It would seem that most couples the world over wind up falling into some sort of couples void where noone exists outside of themselves and their family. This phenomenon starts when they first get married and are just so into each other that there's no room for anyone else, and only gets worse from there as kids enter the picture and take up even more of their time and attention. Somehow my parents managed to do this.

I want a marriage like that. I want my future husband and I to have friends. I want to be able to shoo my husband out of the house for hours, or even days, to spend time with his friends. I want a husband who will drive a boat around while my friends and I drink margaritas in the back. Gah! I'm so jealous!

*************************************

My boss brought me an ooey gooey chocolate croissant this morning. Be jealous. She's my new favorite.

Catch phrases that I have picked up from my new best friend include:

�Be Jealous� � said anytime I have anything even remotely good, such as a chocolate croissant.

�I am [insert number that jumps into my head] kinds of [insert emotion that I may currently be feeling]� -- obviously this helps readers and listeners alike to know just exactly how emotive I am feeling at any given time.

�Aggro� � which is the newest one that hasn�t quite worked it�s way into my vocabulary yet, but it will. It�s just a matter of time.

It�s neat when people introduce me to new things. Especially when they possess a whole different vocabulary from me, so I can steal their words and make myself ultra trendy and popular.

*********************************************************

Can't Get it Out of My Head:No music today folks � I�m just not feelin� it.

Reading:Still reading The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath. I wasn�t very into it for the first 2/3 of the book, but then I read this line �because wherever I sat � on the deck of a ship or at a street caf� in Paris or Bangkok - I would be sitting under the same glass bell jar, stewing in my own sour air,� and I suddenly went nuts about the book. Unfortunately, it�s almost done now.

Recently Saw:It was a movie marathon this past weekend. Movies I hadn�t seen: "Hedwig & the Angry Inch" which was good in a very dark, strange sort of way. I didn�t think I would be very into it, so I put it in and set to cleaning the living room, but then I wound up rewinding the DVD like every 8 minutes, so I finally sat down and took it in. "Blue Crush" which I (and I can�t believe I�m admitting this in public) LOVED. It fulfilled some �bad teenybopper romance movie� need inside of me. I may watch it again before I take it back. Probably not, but the idea has crossed my mind. "The Good Girl" which was NOT AT ALL what I expected, but was good in an indie dark comedy sort of way. I also watched "What Women Want" which was also very good. Mel Gibson showing his soft comedic underbelly is some good stuff. Finally, and it may just be that I wasn�t in the mood for this kind of movie, but "I am Sam" wasn�t that good. It was a little long and a bit too much for my delicate tastes. Not my favorite movie ever, no.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland