The Better Part of Me...

Happy Days
2005-02-16 @ 11:34 a.m.

Dear Mom & Sister,

Thank you for sending me almost the exact same Birthday e-mail this morning. It�s creepy. Like you two share DNA or something. I do, however, appreciate the cyber serenade.

Love,
Shelly

***

Dear Girls at Work,

You guys are SUCH my bitches. Not even kidding. Not only do you put up with my crap for 9 hours a day 5 days a week, but you actually bought me the YUMMY POPCORN for my birthday. And a card that is totally fitting for me.

I�m so happy to be stuck with you guys,
Shelly

***

Dear Pam,

Best internet girlfriend a girl could ask for. Thank you for making it so that I can now watch the Thriller scene over and over and over again until the DVD gets a hole melted in it.

You think I�m kidding.

XOXO,
Shelly

***

Dear Everyone Else,

Awwww, you guys? You�re the best. I put every single one of you in my pocket. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Smooches,
Shelly

***

So far 28 feels a lot like 27 did only a lot more people are paying attention to me today. I�m just happy that nobody made me wear a tiara.

28 always seemed like such a grown up age. From 21-25 I kind of always figured that by the time I was 28 I�d have everything figured out. I would know for sure what I wanted to be when I grew up and I would certainly have all my ducks in a row. By the time I turned 26 I seriously began to doubt my whole 28 theory. Now that I�ve crossed the line, I can see that it wasn�t all bogus. My ducks are much more in a row now than they were back then and while I�m still not 100% sure of what I want to be when I grow up, I�m closer to the answer now and I�ve realized that it doesn�t have to be mapped out for me.

I�m content with my life right now. I still have goals and aspirations, but I am also genuinely happy with where I am. I didn�t accomplish everything I thought I�d have accomplished by now when I thought about it 10 years ago, but I also accomplished some things I never even thought about accomplishing 10 years ago. My life took some turns I wasn�t expecting and brought me down some roads I hadn�t planned on taking. I�m better off for it and I�m happy with where they have led me up to this point.

I don�t have plans to celebrate this birthday with a lot of fanfare. Tonight will be girls night as usual (I�m even cooking) in an attempt to make some peace and reconnect with my girls. This weekend I will celebrate with my family (and possibly the boy, if he�s not too chicken!) and then life will go back to normal again.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland