The Better Part of Me...

Albino Pumpkins are Weird
2004-10-29 @ 9:19 a.m.

Albino pumpkins appear to be all the rage this year. Um, do they look a little sickly and wrong to anyone else? Every time I see one I have to stop and try to figure out �what the Hell is wrong with that pumpkin? Oh.� Apparently the albino pumpkins offend my traditionalist sensibilities.

***

Thing I did yesterday that I am incredibly proud of: I contacted not one but TWO people who I do not hang out with on a regular basis (and have, in fact, never hung out with alone and have never initiated the �hanging out� with) and asked them if they wanted to hang out on Saturday night. With just me. Until 11 p.m. at least.

Big whoop. I know. But you all have no idea how much I hate doing that. It�s not that I�m not good with new people because I�m actually AWESOME with new people, I�m just not good at putting my neck on the line and initiating things with new people. If I bump into new people like at the bar or the grocery store or whathaveyou � it�s all fun and games. It�s the actual �Hi, what are you doing on Saturday night?� part that makes my head spin.

I�m weird. I know. How could that possibly be a surprise to anyone at this point?

***

What I love are political emails that are meant to sway you in one direction but, depending on your world point of view actually push you in the opposite direction. This, I think, shows just how subjective political campaigning is. What pulls YOU in and gets YOU on the bandwagon may be just the thing to push me away and send me running toward the other bandwagon.

***

How awkward is this conversation?

Shelly: Will & Grace has seen better days. I think it�s time to pull the plug.
Coworker: Oh. I don�t like Will and Grace. I can�t support that kind of show.
Shelly: *blank stare*
Coworker: That�s like, I tried to watch �Queer Eye� a couple times and�I mean�I think it�s funny. But I can�t support it because of the�*whisper* gay thing.
Shelly *SUPER UNCOMFORTABLE BLANK STARE complete with lip biting*
Shelly: *thinking* this conversation must be stopped before I say something that could cost me my job or at the very least my harmonious work environment.
Coworker: I just�I can�t make myself support the whole gay thing. I just can�t.
Shelly: *more loudly than necessary* So the O.C. starts next week! Who�s pumped?!

Coworker is MY age people. I honestly didn�t think there were people my age who seriously thought like that. Coworker also doesn�t come off as a raging right ring bible thumper so it�s pretty much the last thing I expected to come out of her mouth. I�m stymied. On the one hand, I wish I�d have just given her the patented Shelly �are you even kidding me with this bullshit?� but on the other hand � the workplace is not the place for political/lifestyle discourse. I think it was wise for me to just step away from the situation. I still feel super awkward about it though. I�m just going to be sitting here eating candy corn quietly for a while��scuse me.

***

*sigh*

Weekend plans are still super up in the air. All I know at this time is that it will involve raking some leaves and making sure Oliver gets enough attention/exercise so that there will be no repeat performance of the tail wagging, squirmy wormy, squealing, face licking and body jumping on performance that he gave me at 5:00 a.m. this morning. It could be very very fun or very very boring but there�s no way to tell which way it�s going to go until I�m in it. What can I say? I�m just a fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants kind of girl.

Happy Friday!

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland