The Better Part of Me...

Hubba Hubba Hot Queeny Momma
2004-09-20 @ 10:08 a.m.

My arms are sore.

My shoulders are sore.

My legs are sore.

Whoo-whee � what a weekend!

Oh. I just realized that I may have just given the impression that I had more fun than I actually did this past weekend. Don�t worry, I�m still not having that much fun. At this point I think I might as well just go for a record.

Saturday my mom and I donned some sexy pleather (red! And green! Like Christmas!) work gloves and began a landscaping project on the yard. Much of it was done �He-Man� style (which means that there was a lot of heavy lifting and grunting followed by approximately 3 hours of me flexing my muscles) and the end result was: 1 hacked up peony bush, 1 blue wheelbarrow with a flat tire, 1 former garden now various piles of dirt shoveled away from the garage, 4 enormous branches missing from the crabapple tree in my front yard, 1 dead super ugly shrub hacked to bits by mom�s chainsaw, 1 pair of gasoline drenched sexy pleather work gloves tossed carelessly in the front yard, 8 million fall leaves blown into the street when mom went over the edge with the lawn mower. In summary � some stuff was accomplished, though not as much as I had hoped for and I flexed my muscles far more often than any one person with a shred of pride should have.

Sunday found me rolling out of bed on the entirely wrong side. There are mornings when I wake up and can function like a civilized human being the moment my feet hit the floor. Then there are mornings like yesterday morning. The timing was unfortunate as we had plans to attend the Renaissance Festival with Sarah T. and Barbie. It probably wasn�t good then that I took one look at what Sarah T. was wearing (jeans and a t-shirt) and snapped �It�s going to be 87 degrees in Shakopee today Sarah.� Sarah T. assured me that she would probably feel a chill when we sat for shows and whatnot and stubbornly refused to change which prompted me to throw up my arms and snip �I�m just telling you that I just checked the weather and it�s going to be 87 degrees up there.�

Who the Hell knows what my problem was. If Sarah T. wants to wear jeans in midsummer-style heat, then Sarah T. can do just that. As it was � it was hotter than Hades yesterday afternoon, but Sarah T. never once uttered a complaint.

Despite my sour morning mood, I was able to pull out of it by the time we hit festival grounds, and I do believe that despite the heat � good times were had by all. It was Sarah T�s first time, so we tried to see as much as we could see. We saw Puke & Snot and The Tortuga Twins as well as a little bit of Folk Underground and a little bit of Johnny Phoenix and then we took a short hike through the Enchanted Forest. We watched the parade and dutifully shouted �Hubba Hubba Hot Queeny Momma!� when the queen rolled by. We had delicious Renaissance Festival food and each in turn contemplated getting a henna tattoo (me), palm reading (Sarah T.) and enormous renaissance beer stein (Barbie). By the time we left we were covered in grime, sunburned, and exhausted.

In all, a weekend well spent.

***

Oh. I also bought the Sims 2 (with money I have absolutely no business spending) on Friday. It took a while for me to get used to the new 3-D view and it took me forever to get my first house set up (I built from scratch since I looked up the money cheat before I even bought the game which, I know, makes me just that much more sad than I already was) and I only just started actually playing it last night (and I didn�t get very far because it seemed to be running kind of slow for some reason) but � from what I can tell? It�s pretty awesome. I played Hannah Hottest (I�m sorry, but I needed a �Hottest� family. Duh.) for only about a half hour last night and I�m pretty sure she�s already interested in Paul Long. This should be interesting. When left to their own devices, the only thing those two crazy kids want to do is dance dance dance.

I figure the $50 I dropped on this game will pay itself off during the upcoming long winter weekends when there�s not a lot else going on. I consider it an investment.

Right.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland